Cherry Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I have never made an angel food cake in my life because I thought they would be too difficult. This was delicious. I took it to a church function and it was gone in ten minutes. I am going to try this with different fruit. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Very tasty, I added extra cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valentinesdaybaby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This cake was delicious. It is not as light and fluffy as other angel food cakes, because there are not as many egg whites in it, but still really good. I folded my cherries into the batter carefully. I will use more cherries next time. I served this topped with Cool Whip-this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
i made it for a girlfriend at work and it was a smash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
this cake turned out great! i didn't have cream of tartar and used self-rising flour but this was not a problem. i will add more cherries next time (maybe fresh ones) and fold them in rather than just laying them on the batter. i think i will only add 1 C. sugar next time too, but all in all 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMS1115

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colma, California, USA
Living In: Alkmaar, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
YUMMY! This cake was so easy and made a perfect light dessert. I served this to my in-laws and received high praise. My father-in-law went back for seconds. I actually added more cherries than the recipe called for, and I folded them in (as suggested in another review). A few pieces did end up with more cherries than others because I folded rather than placed them, but this was not a problem for those who got those pieces. My husband suggested that I add even more cherries. This was absolutely delicious. Thanks for sharing, Traci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
Delicious and beautiful! I made it for a small get together and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Insane! My honey is on a diet and asked me to NEVER make this again. He can't stop eating it! I topped it with homemade whipped cream that I flavored with a little almond extract. PERFECT compliment. Next time (I don't care what he says, there WILL be a next time) I won't make the whipped cream as sweet, since the cake itself is VERY sweet. I folded in the cherries rather than "placing" them. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I didn't use any cream of tarter and used regular flour instead (just because I didn't have cake flour) and it turned out excellent. I also added fresh strawberrys instead, about 8-10 med sized chopped up into very small piece and spinkle some sugar on them and then folded them into the cake mix. My toddlers loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Oh my gosh....!! I had made a yellow cake for a co-workers birthday and had a bunch of egg whites left over... Found this recipe that called for just the amount of egg whites I had (most angel food cakes call for much more..) Didn't have cherries so I used sliced strawberries as another reviewer did. Also didn't have cake flour so I removed 2 Tbl of AP flour and replaced with 2 Tbl corn starch. Wow! Usually my family is bummed when I have a co-worker with a birthday because they miss out on one of Mom's cakes - but this time, I think they scored the better end of the bargain! This is light, tasty - wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shazam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States