Cherry Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
i made it for a girlfriend at work and it was a smash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
this cake turned out great! i didn't have cream of tartar and used self-rising flour but this was not a problem. i will add more cherries next time (maybe fresh ones) and fold them in rather than just laying them on the batter. i think i will only add 1 C. sugar next time too, but all in all 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMS1115

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colma, California, USA
Living In: Alkmaar, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
YUMMY! This cake was so easy and made a perfect light dessert. I served this to my in-laws and received high praise. My father-in-law went back for seconds. I actually added more cherries than the recipe called for, and I folded them in (as suggested in another review). A few pieces did end up with more cherries than others because I folded rather than placed them, but this was not a problem for those who got those pieces. My husband suggested that I add even more cherries. This was absolutely delicious. Thanks for sharing, Traci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
Delicious and beautiful! I made it for a small get together and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
This tasted great. We had it with some ice cream and brandied cherry topping. However, it fell a little, and wasn't as light as I had hoped. I will try again, though. Overall a great recipe and really simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
Delicious! I don't know if mine turned out just as it "should", it was not real tall and fluffy. It didn't end up filling up the pan, but it had GREAT flavor. I iced it with whipped cream, sweetened with powdered sugar and flavored with vanilla and some chopped cherries. I later compared the recipe to the one in my Betty Crocker book and noted that there are less eggs in this recipe among other things, which might explain why it wasn't real tall and fluffy. I will try it again for another occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
this would have been an amazing cake. but it didnt rise as much as it should have. even though i had it in the oven for an hour :/ it was still good. just a little too condensed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
My first attempt at angel food cake, I used all-pupose flour so that was probably the problem but it didn't even attempt to raise a little bit. My friends didn't know that it was supposed to be twice as high though and all raved about it, very tasty and I'm excited to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I have never made an angel food cake in my life because I thought they would be too difficult. This was delicious. I took it to a church function and it was gone in ten minutes. I am going to try this with different fruit. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Insane! My honey is on a diet and asked me to NEVER make this again. He can't stop eating it! I topped it with homemade whipped cream that I flavored with a little almond extract. PERFECT compliment. Next time (I don't care what he says, there WILL be a next time) I won't make the whipped cream as sweet, since the cake itself is VERY sweet. I folded in the cherries rather than "placing" them. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States