Cherry Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Oh my gosh....!! I had made a yellow cake for a co-workers birthday and had a bunch of egg whites left over... Found this recipe that called for just the amount of egg whites I had (most angel food cakes call for much more..) Didn't have cherries so I used sliced strawberries as another reviewer did. Also didn't have cake flour so I removed 2 Tbl of AP flour and replaced with 2 Tbl corn starch. Wow! Usually my family is bummed when I have a co-worker with a birthday because they miss out on one of Mom's cakes - but this time, I think they scored the better end of the bargain! This is light, tasty - wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shazam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Very tasty, I added extra cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valentinesdaybaby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gypsy_Songbird
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Made w/out the cherries, and it turned out yummy. I made a balsamic strawberry sauce for the top. I do wish it would have been a little fluffier, but overall it's a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gypsy_Songbird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I didn't use any cream of tarter and used regular flour instead (just because I didn't have cake flour) and it turned out excellent. I also added fresh strawberrys instead, about 8-10 med sized chopped up into very small piece and spinkle some sugar on them and then folded them into the cake mix. My toddlers loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This cake was delicious. It is not as light and fluffy as other angel food cakes, because there are not as many egg whites in it, but still really good. I folded my cherries into the batter carefully. I will use more cherries next time. I served this topped with Cool Whip-this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Insane! My honey is on a diet and asked me to NEVER make this again. He can't stop eating it! I topped it with homemade whipped cream that I flavored with a little almond extract. PERFECT compliment. Next time (I don't care what he says, there WILL be a next time) I won't make the whipped cream as sweet, since the cake itself is VERY sweet. I folded in the cherries rather than "placing" them. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I have never made an angel food cake in my life because I thought they would be too difficult. This was delicious. I took it to a church function and it was gone in ten minutes. I am going to try this with different fruit. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
My first attempt at angel food cake, I used all-pupose flour so that was probably the problem but it didn't even attempt to raise a little bit. My friends didn't know that it was supposed to be twice as high though and all raved about it, very tasty and I'm excited to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
this would have been an amazing cake. but it didnt rise as much as it should have. even though i had it in the oven for an hour :/ it was still good. just a little too condensed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
Delicious! I don't know if mine turned out just as it "should", it was not real tall and fluffy. It didn't end up filling up the pan, but it had GREAT flavor. I iced it with whipped cream, sweetened with powdered sugar and flavored with vanilla and some chopped cherries. I later compared the recipe to the one in my Betty Crocker book and noted that there are less eggs in this recipe among other things, which might explain why it wasn't real tall and fluffy. I will try it again for another occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States