Cherry Almond Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
My neice brought this to a family potluck. Even though I had already declared that I was cutting back on sugar and wasn't having dessert, I had two pieces. It's moist, and full of cherry flavour. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Sobey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Pretty good and easy cake. It had a very artificial taste, but that was to be expected. Maybe I will try just a vanilla cake mix next time. But everyone loved it so that's always a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I didn't find this cake all that great...to each his own I guess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I made this cake and cooked it in a bundt pan. It came out beautifully. I pureed the cherry and cut down on the water. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
my family did not find this cake very appealing- would not recommend it - there was not much to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Very difficult to find cherry cake mix. Used strawberry cake mix instead. Next I will try a white cake mix and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
EasterI've made this cake for a couple of years. It is delicious. I just made it for Easter and it's all gone. It is really easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was a hit. I made it for Easter Brunch and I had only hour and half to have ready by. It was fast and tasty. I happened to have a cherry cake and a can of cherry's so it was perfect. I also used some of the cherry juice for the glaze turned out great. It was very moist and light at the same time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I needed a quick dessert today using a random box cherry chip cake mix I had in my pantry. I made my own cherry pie filling from two cans of dark cherries I had in my pantry (bought cheap last week for .99 a can at Grocery Outlet) with water, lemon juice, sugar, a bit of vanilla extract and cornstarch. When I made the glaze, I added a tablespoon of butter and a pinch of salt, just like Grandma taught me for a quick glaze. I was able to use a boxed cake mix I had for a while that I really wanted to jazz up and two cheap cans of cherries, which helps me in the long run when we move in a couple months. I appreciate you sharing your dessert, Randy. This was great with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream. Next time, I might take Lilcat's suggestion and use either grenadine or marachino cherry juice to make the glaze instead of almond extract. I think that's a fabulous idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was very good. I used a little green food coloring in the icing and added green coconut to look like a wreath for Christmas. I took it to a church event, and several liked it. Very easy, very good. I'm curious to try putting some shaved almonds in the cake itself and maybe some on top too. I think the crunch would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States