Cherry Almond Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This sold well at the bake sale this week. I also used cheery juice to make the glaze and sprinkled sliced almonds on the top to make it pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This disappeared quickly at a family Easter dinner today. I thought this would be a dense cake, but it was actually light and moist (which I liked). I will bake it in a sheet pan next time & cut in small squares. For the glaze, I used some juice from a jar of cherries rather than water. The juice made it a pretty pink color. Since it was for Easter, I sprinkled the cake with coconut and decorated with some jellybeans. Thanks for sharing your yummy & easy recipe, Randy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I needed a quick dessert today using a random box cherry chip cake mix I had in my pantry. I made my own cherry pie filling from two cans of dark cherries I had in my pantry (bought cheap last week for .99 a can at Grocery Outlet) with water, lemon juice, sugar, a bit of vanilla extract and cornstarch. When I made the glaze, I added a tablespoon of butter and a pinch of salt, just like Grandma taught me for a quick glaze. I was able to use a boxed cake mix I had for a while that I really wanted to jazz up and two cheap cans of cherries, which helps me in the long run when we move in a couple months. I appreciate you sharing your dessert, Randy. This was great with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream. Next time, I might take Lilcat's suggestion and use either grenadine or marachino cherry juice to make the glaze instead of almond extract. I think that's a fabulous idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hardrockgirl
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I made this recipe as it is. My husband ate three pieces of this just as soon as it was cooled off. He LOVED it. I will definitely be making this again, also brought some into work and it was devoured that day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Yummy! This was very simple to make and my family loved it! It was a lot lighter than I expected and it wasn't overly sweet either which was very nice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I am giving this 5 stars because it was so, so easy. I didn't use the glaze because I didn't think it needed it. Next time I will try the strawberry cake mix and strawberry pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This was just OK for me. I personally think a boxed plain cherry chip cake is better than this! sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This is AMAZING!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I made this cake and cooked it in a bundt pan. It came out beautifully. I pureed the cherry and cut down on the water. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Very difficult to find cherry cake mix. Used strawberry cake mix instead. Next I will try a white cake mix and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States