Cherry Almond Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I loved this recipe. The cherry and almond combination really kicked the boring old oatmeal up several notches. I don't use soy milk though, so used 1% cow's milk with a few drops of almond extract and a few tsps of brown sugar (for 4 servings) to replace the sweetened vanilla almond soy milk. I topped it off with some toasted chopped almonds and coconut. Very, very good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was GREAT!!! All I had was chocolate almond milk and wow that was very good! I have been looking for a tasty rolled oats recipe and this was so yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calabash, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I'm the submitter of the recipe. My husband recently requested this oatmeal made with chocolate almond milk, and he likes this even more than the vanilla. You can also use unsweetened milk and add a bit of agave nectar or any sweetener of your choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Delicious! And, it keeps you full 'til lunch! I love the cherry & almond flavor combination which definitely perks up regular 'ol oatmeal. I never have soy milk, so I used skim milk and added some almond extract along with a bit of honey for additional sweetness. Next time I might top it off with some real almonds and some coconut for a real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This bumps up to 5 stars if you add a teaspoon of almond extract. I don't usually like oatmeal, but this was fantastic! I did it on the stove top, as I think it is easier with these quantities. The cherries or cranberries are better if you put them in at the beginning instead of the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Great oatmeal! I only made 1 serving so I used 1/2 cup milk, about 1/4 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp brown sugar. I added chopped almonds and craisins instead of dried cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
yum! thank you for this recipe. I always buy Vanilla Breeze in the carton, so I had this in my pantry and made it with the dried cherries as the recipe called for. It gave it a nutty flavor without adding the extra calories and fat that nuts would. I put a mixture of splenda and sugar over it. It was really good! some white chocolate chips would really give it an edge with the cherries too - but I didn't have any. I really enjoyed this easy healthy breakfast. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIZZIEBEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I didn't have any dried cherries so I used dried cranberries instead. I thought this was lacking in flavor so I added a little cinnamon sugar and that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
My new favorite breakfast! Love this! I use the same ingredients except I use the instant oats and follow the proportions on the box for one serving. The cherries with the sweetness of the almond milk is heavenly! I may never eat cereal again :). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I loved this! I followed other reviewers advice about one row of chips, and I left out the beans and sour cream, since I didn't have any. I added a taco seasoning packet as well and it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States