Cherry Almond Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I already knew I would like this recipe since it calls for both cherries and almonds. I absolutely love anything that has cherries with almonds in it! I scaled this down to serve only myself since I am the only one who really eats oatmeal. I made oganic steel cut oatmeals, added soy milk, an 1/8 almond extract, fresh bing cherries, pitted, halved. I omitted the salt completely. To that I added a sprinkle of light brown sugar. Ooohh...so delicious! Tasty, slightly sweet and hearty. Loved the crunch from the almonds as it gives this a nice texture. The cherries are juicy with a slight tart but the brown sugar offset that with its' sweetness. I was a happy camper this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Delicious! And, it keeps you full 'til lunch! I love the cherry & almond flavor combination which definitely perks up regular 'ol oatmeal. I never have soy milk, so I used skim milk and added some almond extract along with a bit of honey for additional sweetness. Next time I might top it off with some real almonds and some coconut for a real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I eat oatmeal almost daily and am always looking for ways to change it up a little bit. We use vanilla almond milk on a regular basis and love it. This oatmeal is so good. The crunchy almonds go so well with the sweet milk and chewy, tart cherries. I have already made this several mornings and will continue to make it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Great oatmeal! I only made 1 serving so I used 1/2 cup milk, about 1/4 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp brown sugar. I added chopped almonds and craisins instead of dried cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was GREAT!!! All I had was chocolate almond milk and wow that was very good! I have been looking for a tasty rolled oats recipe and this was so yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calabash, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This bumps up to 5 stars if you add a teaspoon of almond extract. I don't usually like oatmeal, but this was fantastic! I did it on the stove top, as I think it is easier with these quantities. The cherries or cranberries are better if you put them in at the beginning instead of the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
My new favorite breakfast! Love this! I use the same ingredients except I use the instant oats and follow the proportions on the box for one serving. The cherries with the sweetness of the almond milk is heavenly! I may never eat cereal again :). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I loved this! I followed other reviewers advice about one row of chips, and I left out the beans and sour cream, since I didn't have any. I added a taco seasoning packet as well and it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I loved this recipe. The cherry and almond combination really kicked the boring old oatmeal up several notches. I don't use soy milk though, so used 1% cow's milk with a few drops of almond extract and a few tsps of brown sugar (for 4 servings) to replace the sweetened vanilla almond soy milk. I topped it off with some toasted chopped almonds and coconut. Very, very good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful
Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I didn't have any dried cherries so I used dried cranberries instead. I thought this was lacking in flavor so I added a little cinnamon sugar and that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States