Cherry Almond Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I reduced this to make just one serving. I added the cherries before cooking and also a little bit of pure almond extract. Super tastey! usually when making plain oatmeal, I have to add brown sugar and cinnamon, but this is wonderful without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Easy and Delicious! I used dried cranberries and added about a spoonful of sugar, a few drops of almond extract and sprinkled sliced almonds over the top. More oatmeal ideas pleeze!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
i was a skeptic when i came across this recipe. i love my oatmeal smothered and covered in butter and sugar. since i am trying to lose weight i am trying to find recipes that cut back on these things ;). When i made this all i added to it was a tsp almond extract and vanilla extract. very very yummy! one of my favorite comfort foods now. and my kids love it too! thats saying something there lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantersville, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This is absolutely delicious oatmeal. I had some almond milk left in the fridge that I wanted to use up, so I had this for breakfast today. I used cherry-flavored Craisins, sprinkled some almonds on the top for a little crunch, and ended up with a fantastic bowl of oatmeal that would be served at a nice restaurant for probably $5.00 (or more). Going into my Favorites folder to be made again and again. Thanks wisweetp for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
My new favorite oatmeal! I added a splash of almond extract, too. Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I will preface this review by saying that I didn't have almond milk and I didn't have dried cherries, but I REALLY wanted to try this recipe b/c I was getting bored with my usual oatmeal recipes. I used almond extract (about 1 tsp) and dried cranberries. I sweetened to taste with splenda. That being said, this oatmeal was so good! I enjoyed every bite, and I'm going to go get almond milk and dried cherries today just so I can make the full batch of it (I only made enough for myself this morning) and enjoy. This was a great way to start my morning. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I didn't have vanilla almond milk. I used regular milk and added a teaspoon each of almond and vanilla extract. Because my milk wasn't sweetened, I added a quarter cup of white sugar. This was very good, this may be my new favorite breakfast oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Five stars because it is so healthy and yet very palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Great flavor combination. I like another reviewers suggestion of adding almond extract to give it even more flavor. Sometimes I don't have dried cherries but , do have a bag of frozen cherries at all times. I add them at the end. Just long enough to warm through. Oh, and as always, a generous helping of ground flax meal to ramp up the nutritious aspect just a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was okay. Probably won't make again. We're not huge oatmeal fans anyway, but I wanted to give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States