Cherry Almond Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Robin Gail
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Excellent recipe. I made this as muffins to make it easier for people to take (use paper liners). I used Duncan Hiens coconut supreme cake mix for added flavor. I used fat free sour cream, only two eggs to hold down the fat and increased the water a little. The batter should be thick and spread, not pour. That is how you know you have the batter right. I too added crumb topping before baking and a few pecans for my husband's muffin. Crumb topping = 1/4 cup of each cake mix,brown sugar & oatmeal. Only add about 1-2 tablespoon of Parkay buttery spray (no fat, calories or cholesterol)just to make some crumbs. It should be a bit powdery. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gail

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Go check your pantry or your cupboards! If you've got a white cake mix and a can of pie filling you've got a beautiful cake hiding in there! I felt like baking today but it was late in the day and I didn't have much time. I didn't expect much from this other than the speediness factor. After all, it was "just" a cake mix and a can of pie filling, but that was ok, since Hubs' staff isn't fussy! I REALLY became skeptical when I realized what it took (nothing, really) to get it in the pan and into the oven. But it was almost as if the cake played a trick on me, because once it came out of the oven and got all prettied up with the sliced almonds and glaze, it was almost like the Ugly Duckling becoming a beautiful swan. I was impressed. It is gorgeous. But I wasn't convinced it would taste half as good as it looked. I was surprised again - it's just delicious - soft and moist, creamy and gooey - everything you could ask for. The recipe is a true winner on its own, but I think it helped to add a teaspoon of vanilla to the batter and a quarter teaspoon of almond extract to the glaze. Where it called for a "dash" of vegetable oil, I gave it a "dribble" of corn syrup. It kept the glaze soft and gave it a nice sheen, while the extracts pretty effectively disguised "that cake mix taste." This is a stunning coffee cake, no matter how shamefully easy it is to make. I'd love to try other flavors - apple, lemon, blueberry, strawberry, raspberry are all tempting possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This coffee cake is a winner every time. The only thing I changed was to added 1 tsp of almond extract to the batter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I agree this coffee cake is extremely impressive looking and it's EASY to make! I baked it in a 13x9 pan which takes longer than 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I made this more like a cake, but served it for an office morning get together - they ate it all! I used a 9 x 13 pan, but it took more like 45 minutes to bake. I kept testing. Then I made it with a carrot cake mix with apple pie topping. Still did the glaze, but used finely chopped walnuts. The whole thing did not make it to the office. It was first reviewed by my resident taster, my husband,sometime between midnight and 7 a.m.! He obviously approved, because 4 pieces were missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Mmm. I used blueberry pie filling instead of cherry and I omitted the oil in the glaze and used some lemon juice... I also toasted the almonds, as previously suggested. The white cake mix makes this fluffier and less dense than most coffee cakes, which is nice, but it did have a little bit of a boxed cake mix taste. Despite that, it was lovely with toasted almonds and lemon glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2001
This was a quick and easy coffecake to take to my church breakfast. It was a sure hit and I brought home an empty pan. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I've made this cake and it is one of my favorites. I've used apple, peach, and cherry pie filling. This cake is so easy to make. I've given the recipe to many friends as well as family members out of state to try. Everyone loves it. This recipe can be made even by novice cooks. It deserves a 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
I had to bring a dessert for a meeting. I picked it because I had all the ingre- dients on hand and it looked easy and quick. I used light sour cream and omitted the almonds because that was the one item I didn't have on hand. It turned out great. I think the almonds would make it even better. -Marilyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This coffeecake turned out just as I expected. It was easy to prepare and baked quickly and turned out moist and bursting with cherries. I added almond extract to the glaze, and it went perfectly with the cake. The teachers at school loved this one and some could not believe that it started with a cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States