Cherry Almond Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
very easy and tasty, i made it into cupcakes to make it less messy but was still a bit too messy. next time i will add less cherries for it to be easier to handle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Ray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This is a very good recipe - good for company as well. Adding a teaspoon or two of cinnamon to the batter lessens the cake mix taste quite a bit. I was hoping for a coffee cake a bit more dense, but I will definitely make this one again and try other fillings as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turlock, California, USA
Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This is a great and super easy recipe. It would be great with other pie fillings too.....apple, blueberry or another mixed berry. I used yellow cake because thats what I had on hand and since I didn't have the almonds I skipped it and it was still fabulous! Especially served warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I am not sure what I did wrong but I used a jelly roll and it overflowed. The cake did not look like the picture after it was done. May try it in a 9 x 13 pan next
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
excellent... that's the only word for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrCookiePR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This recipe was quick and easy.My family went crazy over it and a friend who tried it had to have the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Mmm. I used blueberry pie filling instead of cherry and I omitted the oil in the glaze and used some lemon juice... I also toasted the almonds, as previously suggested. The white cake mix makes this fluffier and less dense than most coffee cakes, which is nice, but it did have a little bit of a boxed cake mix taste. Despite that, it was lovely with toasted almonds and lemon glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I know better, but didn't put my hands on my ingredients and no longer live alone - so sometimes they're consumed without my knowledge! I had to substitute plain yogurt for the sour cream, and for the glaze I used lemon juice and extract with a couple of tablespoons of milk and melted butter with powdered sugar to give it a bit of tartness, since I had no almonds. I made it Lemon-Glazed Cherry coffeecake. And it was a sure hit. Next time, I may make it with lemon cake mix instead, and maybe strawberry pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Too sweet for a coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This was good for a quick dessert but definitely too sweet for breakfast. I don't know if I'll make this again because it still tastes a lot like cake mix. This recipe is flexible though in that you can use fat free sour cream and egg substitute without sacrificing any flavor or texture. I used a 9x13 pan, and it ended up being about 1.75 inches thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States