Cherry Almond Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Go check your pantry or your cupboards! If you've got a white cake mix and a can of pie filling you've got a beautiful cake hiding in there! I felt like baking today but it was late in the day and I didn't have much time. I didn't expect much from this other than the speediness factor. After all, it was "just" a cake mix and a can of pie filling, but that was ok, since Hubs' staff isn't fussy! I REALLY became skeptical when I realized what it took (nothing, really) to get it in the pan and into the oven. But it was almost as if the cake played a trick on me, because once it came out of the oven and got all prettied up with the sliced almonds and glaze, it was almost like the Ugly Duckling becoming a beautiful swan. I was impressed. It is gorgeous. But I wasn't convinced it would taste half as good as it looked. I was surprised again - it's just delicious - soft and moist, creamy and gooey - everything you could ask for. The recipe is a true winner on its own, but I think it helped to add a teaspoon of vanilla to the batter and a quarter teaspoon of almond extract to the glaze. Where it called for a "dash" of vegetable oil, I gave it a "dribble" of corn syrup. It kept the glaze soft and gave it a nice sheen, while the extracts pretty effectively disguised "that cake mix taste." This is a stunning coffee cake, no matter how shamefully easy it is to make. I'd love to try other flavors - apple, lemon, blueberry, strawberry, raspberry are all tempting possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This is AWESOME! I made this twice and baked in 8 inch round aluminumpans and 4 families raved about this. My son hates anything cherry, yet tried "just a bite" then ate the whole thing. This cake is requested for Birthdays, Easter and mothers day. May try using yogurt to replace cream cheese. But haven't yet...perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Oddly bland. I used reduced-fat sour cream and pie filling with artificial sugar, so that might've been my bad. Even the glaze -- which added significant calories -- had no taste. I'd keep looking for another coffee cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Add 1 tsp Almond extract to batter. Easy and awesome cake.....no left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Got raves at a church breakfast. Fast easy thought it was a great cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Was certainly a sweet cake, very moist. Everyone who tasted it loved it and said it was a keeper. Would love to do one with peach pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was very easy, had everything on hand. I used blueberry pie filling and french vanilla cake mix. I will probably run a knife through the fruit and cake batter next time to better blend the tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebugs_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prineville, Oregon, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This coffeecake turned out just as I expected. It was easy to prepare and baked quickly and turned out moist and bursting with cherries. I added almond extract to the glaze, and it went perfectly with the cake. The teachers at school loved this one and some could not believe that it started with a cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
In selecting this recipe I was looking for fast and easy & with that in mind, 4 stars(it really is more a Betty Crocker thing than home cooking)...when I want REAL coffeecake, I will go to my recipe box of oldies but goodies...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I will definitely make this again. I did find it to be quite cakey, but still good. Next time, I will bake with a bit of sweetened cream cheese on top as well... And maybe a bit more fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States