Cherry Almond Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This was good for a quick dessert but definitely too sweet for breakfast. I don't know if I'll make this again because it still tastes a lot like cake mix. This recipe is flexible though in that you can use fat free sour cream and egg substitute without sacrificing any flavor or texture. I used a 9x13 pan, and it ended up being about 1.75 inches thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Wanted to do this as muffins, but was not enough batter for 24 regular sized muffin cups. So I stretched the batter with a mixture of 8 oz. of cream cheese, 2 more eggs, and about 1/2 cup gran. sugar. Also toasted the almonds before putting them on. If you do it this way, put the cherries on the bottom or in the middle of the muffin cups, as they tended to slide off the top. Otherwise, it was quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This was good and easy. I added 1/2 tsp almond flavoring to the glaze instead of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetobakefor4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This recipe is great. Easy to make. My husband really enjoyed it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Gail
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Excellent recipe. I made this as muffins to make it easier for people to take (use paper liners). I used Duncan Hiens coconut supreme cake mix for added flavor. I used fat free sour cream, only two eggs to hold down the fat and increased the water a little. The batter should be thick and spread, not pour. That is how you know you have the batter right. I too added crumb topping before baking and a few pecans for my husband's muffin. Crumb topping = 1/4 cup of each cake mix,brown sugar & oatmeal. Only add about 1-2 tablespoon of Parkay buttery spray (no fat, calories or cholesterol)just to make some crumbs. It should be a bit powdery. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gail

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Very Good !! I made it and took it to a breakfast and it was a hit.. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Definitely decent for a quick breakfast. I had a white cake mix that I needed to use up, so decided to make this for my family. It was pretty good, but nothing spectacular. I had made it previously as directed and it was WAYYYYY too sweet with the icing. This time I used 1 cup powdered sugar and a little bit of almond extract and milk. I drizzled over it and it was still awfully sweet. Still, it was super fast to throw together, and would be good if you had to run out to a potluck, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
To make this more coffee cake like, I added a crumb topping. We all enjoyed it and thank you Glenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This recipe is so easy & delicious. I took it to work & was mobbed for the recipe. I remembered it off the top of my head---it was that easy! My husband asked me to make it at home since I didn't have any left from work. He went crazy over it. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fremont, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
This recipe had mixed reviews and to be honest I don't know where the raves came from! It was just OK in my book. I used the jelly roll pan...wasn't really a coffee cake but not really a cake, either. Tasted OK but was just disappointing. Added some almond extract to the glaze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States