Cherry Almond Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Super recipe, quick to make & bake. Made the topping a little different using 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar, a scant 1/2 t. of almond extract with the 2 T. of milk, then put it in a Ziploc, snipped one corner, and drizzling it was a "piece of cake". And, added a little more cherry pie filling. Can use the remaining for a small coffee cake. Oh, sprinkled a handfull of sliced almonds over it before drizzling. Might toast them next time. Purchased a Walmart shallow, non-stick roaster, 15 x 10 x ? which worked great, plus has metal handles--great for transporting. All the other ideas by those who have rated this recipe really helped me,too. Want to use other pie fillings for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Made this last night, left out the oil and added some almond extract to the icing and the cake batter and it was wonderful. Only problem I had was that I took it out of the oven at about 22-23 minutes and the bottom was very very browned on 1 side, but that was probably due to my crappy old oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Good - I made my own cherry sauce from canned cherries. Good flavor. Scored less becasue I think the best would have more homemade flavor and texture, but it was good for an easy recipe. The bottom of the cake was wet the second day - fridge it to avoid that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Looked very good but that was it.i did not care for it .it was more of a regular cake than a coffecake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I used this recipe to use up leftover cherry and pineapple glaze from a ham. I already had all the ingredients and I skipped the glaze. It turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Res

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I thought this ws fantastic.....as little as I had of it. By time I went to have another piece for myself, my husband had almost all of it gone(it did not last a day in the house....no kids....no escape goat). However, I did use the crumbled topping instesd of the glazed topping. If you have a big sweet tooth then i suppose the glaze would suit you better. If you are looking for more of a coffee cake style, I would suggest the crumble topping. Over all, very good and I will make it again! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
For such a simple recipe, the result is amazing! Try adding 1 tsp of cinnamon for a slightly different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Very pretty cake. Received lots of compliments. Followed recipe exactly. Baked on Pampered Chef Jelly Roll stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Delicious! Followed recipe exactly as listed but added a couple drops of almond flavoring to the drizzle. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I make tons of desserts and we eat half of it and I give the rest away, so I can make something else because we've had enough. Welllllll...I made this cake exactly as the recipe says(which I rarely do)and needless to say my husband and I ate the whole pan full......yuuuummmy! Since the first one the next was spice cake and apple Awesome! and 3 more new one all good. Much better than dump cake which I find tooo sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States