Chemical Apple Pie (No Apple Apple Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
You know what they say...nothing gets in the way of a good apple pie like those pesky apples...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LICS
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I fooled a lot of people with this recipe. I made this pie because it was cheap and easy. I needed to make 12 pies and found it easy to double the recipe and make 2 at a time. I added extra cinnamon and I added nutmeg to the recipe! Everyone loved it and could not believe it did not have fruit of any kind in it! I would suggest a small sprinkle of pecans under the top layer to give it a little "crunch".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
My kids loved this. We made it for my husband. The kids nicknamed it Tricky Pie. They loved tricking Daddy to eat apple-less apple pie. DH loves apple pie and had no clue there was no apple in it. The kids want to make it when Grandma comes to visit. It's a fun novelty pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
The idea of mock apple pie repulsed me, but I had some leftover (stale) Ritz crackers from the Superbowl, so I thought I would give this a shot. I was really surprised. It does taste like apple pie. I read previous reviews about this recipe being too watery, so I added a half of a tablespoon of minute tapioca to it (which I put in my regular apple pies). I also increased the number of crackers used to 30. Those changes gave the filling the texture of canned apple pie filling. I also believe that no apple pie is complete without some nutmeg, so I added 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg. This recipe only got four stars because of the nutritional information. Regular apple pie is much more nutritious, has one third the sodium (132mg vs 366), and about 200 calories less a slice. (255 vs 456 calories a slice) Not to mention the fact that apple pie has apples in it - which have a lot more health benefits than Ritz crackers. Needless to say, although this recipe was really easy and it does taste like apple pie, I won't make it again simply because of the nutritional information.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
It tasted like apple pie, but I wouldn't make it again. It was like apple sauce in pie crust. It was funny, but real apple pie is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This is a great recipe. My great grandfather made a mock apple pie, and my grandmother made it for us when I was young. I think it's more historical than anything else. People made this before they had constant refrigeration and when apples weren't in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
This recipe is awesome, esp for people with an apple allergy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
Tasted great! was fun to see who I could fool. If someone gave it to me, I would not have known. I might have second guessed the texture, but not th taste. I see other reviewers asking why someone would want to make a mock apple pie, I think It would be good for someone who is allergic to apples :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
For what it was, it was a good pie. It actually tasted like an apple pie, although the texture was similar to applesauce. Probably won't make it again-just because I can make apple pie with real apples:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
I mainly made this just to see how it would come out. I was surprised at how apply it tasted. I probably won't make it again, just because there's too many other easy pies out there, but if I do, I will use alot more cinamon, and a little more butter. The pies flavor was kind of monotonous. All very sweet, and I couldn't pick up the cinamon at all. I'd use at least 2 tablespoons cinamonif I made it again, but all in all, not a bad pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States