Chemical Apple Pie (No Apple Apple Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I just wanted to point out to those who wondered why you'd make a mock apple pie WHY they were originally made. Pioneers invented it when supplis of fresh apples were scarce. I've also heard it was popular in the Depression when fresh fruit may have been to expensive for some. Maybe not the ideal apple pie but it has some very interesting history.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I thought this was good. Mine had the consistency of applesauce which was interesting, I wasn't sure what to expect with this. My husband who hates all fruit pies said he liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmbutterfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Platte City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Parkville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
if i could rate this a zero I would, I it waterry, evrn when there's no water in it! Stick to the real apple pie, this will just turn you away from pie, all pies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
OH MY GOODNESS!!!!! I had try and make this to see if it really tasted like apple pie. And guess what it does I did increase the crackers to 36 so it had a very good sturdy filling. Anyway who would have thought that crackers would make a great pie thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Very Good, Specially since my sister is in a class who hae people ALLERGIC TO APPLES! I swear I wanted to hit the people who complained it didn't have apples... Um, DUH! Anyway all of the class LOVED it so thankyou very much. (I added a bit of carmel though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ekalaka, Montana, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was surprisingly delicious!!! It tasted like applesauce pie (The crackers didn't hold up as well as I had hoped) Everyone who tried it was surprised it was Ritz crackers and were quite impressed. I will definitely be making this again, though I was given the suggestion to use just one apple, sliced up and put on the top of the cracker mixture to help give it the shape and crunch of an apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This was really good although I almost didn't even try it. It's the name of the recipe that makes a person not want to try to make it. I don't think the word chemical should ever be in a recipe name unless it's a halloween recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alta Loma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This also makes a great science experiment!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
This is a fun recipe for April Fools day! Fun and quick! I like this one! Just add some more crackers! This recipe was a bit too watered down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nappanee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
My cousin made this years and years ago, but we always called it "Mock Apple Pie". I love it! It is absolutely delicious! I am so glad I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States