Chemical Apple Pie (No Apple Apple Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Decent as far as taste goes but gets five stars for being a cool parlor trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I find it hard to believe but this was actually good. Everybody in my family was fooled, they were sure it was apple. I did follow the advice to boil the sugar/cream of tartar and water for 15 full minutes and then allow to cool, put the ritz crackers straight into the pie crust, then poured the cool mixture in. I used one package (which is about 36 crackers). The only thing I might do next time is cut the cinnamon and sugar back a tad. It was a LITTLE too sweet. But I was surprised and thrilled how easy this recipe was :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRYBABIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I do not like apple pie, but I loved this recipe! While it was cooking, I enjoyed the smelled of an apple pie baking in the oven. After my husband had a slice, he kept saying over and over, "Are you sure there are no apples in this pie? It's delicious." I did add a small amount of applesauce on top of the mixture once I had poured it into the pie shell. Then I sprinkled the cinnamon on top of that, and lastly, put the top crust on it. It was subperb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
made this last night..added 1 teas. cornstarch w/ the sugar, and didn't have any cream of tartar so used about 2teas. of lemon juice added that with the water. and added about 10 extra crackers (townhouse), and thought it came out pretty good, although my husband said it was really sweet. i had a piece today and tastes even better! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snugj4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I tried this receipt because my family hate fresh fruit and vegetable, and most pies have some kind of fruit or natural thing in them. If you can turn a snack food into a fake fruit, it is a good thing for my eaters. It tasted real good, definitely almost as good as a hot McDonalds pie. I fool all the people with this pie!!! It's funny!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Yeah this taste like an apple pie, but does not have its texture, thats one of the great things about the apple pies, it also look pretty appauling when place next too a proper apple pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noddy

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Was this my Grandmothers apple pie? No Was this an easy, quick, alternative to the real thing? Very much so. I would make this again for a quick dessert. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastrucker58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
This recipe taste great when yo have it fresh. If you wait till it gets cold the chemical reaction doesnt taste the same. I also use 35 crackers so it wont be as watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKMayroses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I was curious when I came across this recipe. I had only heard a reference to "Mock Apple Pie" on "The Simpsons" So I had to try it! I used 36 Ritz crackers, (1 "sleeve" of them, out of the box) otherwise followed the recipe. Well. I personally did not care for this pie. It was a VERY rich, sweet, sticky, gluey mass of cracker gel. It sort of resembled apple pie visually, but to me did not taste like apples. It tasted like sugar goo with a little cinnamon. Did I mention it was EXTREMELY sweet? In all fairness, one of my sons ate half the pie by himself. He had not been told anything about it, and when asked later what he thought, he had NOT thought it was apple pie, "just some kind of sweet pie"... "like pecan pie filling without the pecans". So much for sensory illusion. I would not make this again. It's REAL APPLES for me! UPDATE: A different son of mine, who was led to believe it WAS an apple pie, ate about a quarter of the pie. He described it as "Some kind of apple jam pie" ... "I expected there to be chunks of apple in it, but it was just jam like stuff" So, I guess the power of suggestion may have a lot to do with the perceived "Appleness" of this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flying chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
just a note on this Recipe, the original recipe calls for 36 ritz crackers, this could explain the watery problem with the pie, also it is very important to make sure (water sugar and tarter) comes to a full rolling boil (do not add crackers to this mixure as stated but break them into the pie shell.)let water mixture simmer for 15 minutes after full boil. Then cool completly before adding the mixture to the crackers in the crust. Then finish as the rest of the recipe states. Hope this helps you, if you ever want to try it again. When it's made correctly it's a really good pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States