Chef's Steak Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Had to leave out the onion and garlic, as my wife is allergic to both. Used a little compounded asafoetida to make up for the lack of onion. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Layne
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I made this recipe and we all love it. The taste is much like Worcestershire sauce but a bit more mild. It is delicious on other foods than steak too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Absolutely wonderful and delicious. Only changes I made was to scale down the recipe so I ended up with 3 1/2 cups sauce after reduction. I added the lemon juice at the end of reduction and I thickened it slightly using xanthum gum. It took about 1 1/2 hours on medium to medium-low heat to reduce by half. It came out as smooth as silk. Possibilities for the use of this incredible sauce (or glaze) are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I hate to be the one to break the streak, but i just made this and served it with my husbands birthday dinner. We both were agreed that it was good but that we liked the bottled stuff better. It was fun to make though but i do not think that i will be making again. Thanks for the most though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I kinda hate to be the one to break the streak, but honestly, this was okay. It wasn't bad, it has actually, a really nifty and unique flavor, but it didn't nearly rock my world as much as it did for the other reviewers. I'd have been better off with the store-brand B-2 knockoff: equally tasty and *much* less work. Tasty, yes, worth the effort, notsomuch. I followed the halved recipe to the letter, minus the cloves (which I didn't realize I didn't have). If anyone wants to try to convince me that that would have made all the difference, I may be willing to try it again, but otherwise, I'll stick with the bottle. (In all fairness, I really, really like the bottled stuff.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This steak sauce was an involved recipe that will serve itself again and again and is held in the fridge for future use. I appreciated the intricate flavors of this sauce and can't wait to use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by San Diego Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Fabulous! So much better than anything you can purchase in a bottle in the grocery store, and outrageously easy to make. I actually had everything on hand. Sweet, tart, tangy, spicy, savory - all at the same time. I was thinking I might like to thicken it a bit, but ended up not straying from the recipe and it was just fantastic as is. I adjusted to six servings to try out, but next time I'll make a full recipe so I'll have some to keep on hand. I feel like a gourmet chef, making my own steak sauce! ;) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
A superb sauce (& marinade), which would rival Worcestershire & A-1 steak sauces. It is slightly sweet, infused with the complexity of cloves, ginger, bay leaves & more. Do know that the sauce will be the consistency of a reduced balsamic or thin maple syrup. I marinated pork chops in 2 Tblsp., then served the sauce over the grilled chops; truly delicious. I will also try this on steaks (as intended) & chicken, as I have 1 cup left after making the recipe for 12 servings. (AR's "Recalculate" feature is VERY useful! Plug in any # of servings you want, to make a smaller quantity.) And when I have finished this batch (which I think will keep well in the refrigerator), I will make more! ***UPDATE:*** I originally made the sauce in April 2009. In Feb. 2010 the sauce is still excellent (having been in a clean bottle & in the fridge all this time). I've since used it on grilled steaks ~ superb, of course! I highly recommend this. Do not let the long ingredients list keep you away ~ it is very simple to put all the ingredients into a pot & simmer it. And it will keep refrigerated for a very, very long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
The taste is very upscale, and can transform a cheaper cut of meat into something nice. I am excited though to try it on a nice steak. I cut this in half, because there are only two of us. It was nice to sit back and let it cook. You do need to make sure the temperature is closer to Medium than low to get it to reduce. I ended up with maybe 1 1/4 cup of sauce. That was reduced down from 3 cups of apple juice, 1/2 cup soy and molasses. I did use canned jalapeno peppers instead of fresh, but the heat was still there but in a pleasant way, if you don't like spicy things don't be afraid of it being spicy it was very pleasant. I've frozen about a 1/2 cup can't wait to use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This sauce is FABULOUS! I made the recipe to serve 16 and wish I had done 32 servings. That would have given me 2 cups of sauce. I forgot to take into account that it would reduce to half it's volume. I skipped the cayenne pepper and jalapeno and used a couple drops of Tabasco instead. I let it sit overnight and served with steak the next day. This recipe allows us to have a steak sauce with the heat toned down. I plan to always have this sauce on hand. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, Korikiss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Mayo Method Steak Sauce

Discover the formula for delicious, last-minute steak sauce.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States