Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I made this exact, only substituting almost a full tablespoon of dried dill weed for the fresh and I omitted the mint only because I didn't have any. I made this early in the morning so it could chill in the fridge all day. Not ashamed at all to admit I ate the whole thing with Stacy's Pita Chips. We'll...........kind of. But it was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I'd give it 10 stars if I could. Served this with Rosemary Ranch Chicken from this site and homemade pita bread. Thanks Chef John, for another 5 star recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1st Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covina, California, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Excellent recipe!! The only thing I do different, and it works well, when I grate my cucumber I use 4 layers of papper towel and absorb the moisture out of the cucumber in this way. The mint and real greek yoghurt is what makes this recipe!! We are such big fans at home, we use it on everything. I make a fresh batch every week, and sometimes 2. I can't believe I'm only the 2nd person testing and at least rating this recipe from Chef John. You must try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyKathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This sauce is excellent. Once you start eating it, you can't get enough of it. And it definitely is better the second day. I followed the recipe exactly and it tastes very authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I am a first timer to this recipe, but because chief John is at the helm and the fact that I love him and would follow him anywhere I took the plunge. As usual an excellent and fun recipe. It will become a frequent dish at my house. Thank you so much for sharing chief John, take care and God bless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
An authentic tzatziki sauce. Simple, good ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAR122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crivitz, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
loved it, was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
OH. MY. GOD!!! So, I don't measure ingredients ever. I just go by my own personal measuring system, but I stayed within the limits of this recipe and I nearly ate half of the sauce before I even refrigerated it! Hahaha... I've never wanted to attempt to make this because I've had it at tons of Greek restaurants and it was ALWAYS phenomenal. This is by far one of the best tzatziki sauces I've ever had. And I made it! *doing happy dance*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This is generally how I've always made Tzatziki (sans mint)but I love CJ's video's! Their always entertaining :) Anyway. I can't believe the 1 star rating, what? If concerned you might find this too tart/sour; either skip the lemon juice and add grated lemon peel for the flavor or...1/2 the yogurt with thick sour cream. I always taste my yogurt first as different brands are more 'tart' then others and on occasion I've opted to tone it down w/sour crm. Like he says on the video, add in seasoning amounts you feel works for your taste or it's our own fault if it's not good. LOL! Easy to adj if needs more of "something" versus adding too much to begin with. That being said...thanks Chef John for this and your pita bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Thank you Chef John!! It was requested that I serve lamb breast for dinner. I thought couscous and tzatziki sauce on the side and found this a wonderfully simple recipe. The only problem was I had no Greek Yogurt left and no way to get to the store to purchase any. Thus I had to use light sour cream. It was delicious(I can't wait to make this with the Greek Yogurt!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sukeyblueskin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield, New York, USA
Living In: Paris, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Chef John's Mayo Method Steak Sauce

Discover the formula for delicious, last-minute steak sauce.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States