Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Eh, a little too lemony for me. The cuke flavor just didn't dominate, nor did the mint or dill. I'll tell you what saved this. I made it again using dill pickle juice instead of the lemon (straight from the pickle jar). Much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I'd give it 10 stars if I could. Served this with Rosemary Ranch Chicken from this site and homemade pita bread. Thanks Chef John, for another 5 star recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1st Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covina, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Thank you Chef John!! It was requested that I serve lamb breast for dinner. I thought couscous and tzatziki sauce on the side and found this a wonderfully simple recipe. The only problem was I had no Greek Yogurt left and no way to get to the store to purchase any. Thus I had to use light sour cream. It was delicious(I can't wait to make this with the Greek Yogurt!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sukeyblueskin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield, New York, USA
Living In: Paris, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I have made other Tzatziki sauces and this is by far the WORST. It had an over powering garlic taste, a very spicy aftertaste because of the cayenne pepper(I wouldn't use it), and it was too sour from too much lemon and I only used half as much as it asked for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I made this as directed but it was extremely tart and very garlicly. I've had this many times and did everything as directed including squeezing the heck out of the cucumbers! Nothing like the thick and creamy tzatziki I get at Mythlos. Chef John must not get the same garlic I get at my store because 4 cloves was TOO much! And how do you mellow the tanginess of the yogurt?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This is generally how I've always made Tzatziki (sans mint)but I love CJ's video's! Their always entertaining :) Anyway. I can't believe the 1 star rating, what? If concerned you might find this too tart/sour; either skip the lemon juice and add grated lemon peel for the flavor or...1/2 the yogurt with thick sour cream. I always taste my yogurt first as different brands are more 'tart' then others and on occasion I've opted to tone it down w/sour crm. Like he says on the video, add in seasoning amounts you feel works for your taste or it's our own fault if it's not good. LOL! Easy to adj if needs more of "something" versus adding too much to begin with. That being said...thanks Chef John for this and your pita bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
i think i must have just had very pungent garlic.. but loved everything else about this recipe.. used dried dill and mint.. enjoyed this but like i said.. the garlic was a little over the top.. wish i would have used dried.. ty for the recipe either way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
So some say this is the authentic tzatiki sauce, well it's not what my family is use too so while it was ok it was different. I followed the recipe exactly. The difference was it was to tangy sour. The greek yogurt just overwhelmed the whole dish. We couldn't taste the mint at all. I let it rest in the fridge overnight but it only made the aftertaste more sour tasting. Think I will try another recipe for this sauce to compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Chef John is a delight to watch in his video. I really wanted to love his recipe too, but it had a terribly sour aftertaste. After letting it sit, I tried adding sugar, salt, even blue cheese to bring out a richer flavor, but nothing could cover up that taste. Having had tzatziki sauce many times, including in Greece, it did not compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
OH. MY. GOD!!! So, I don't measure ingredients ever. I just go by my own personal measuring system, but I stayed within the limits of this recipe and I nearly ate half of the sauce before I even refrigerated it! Hahaha... I've never wanted to attempt to make this because I've had it at tons of Greek restaurants and it was ALWAYS phenomenal. This is by far one of the best tzatziki sauces I've ever had. And I made it! *doing happy dance*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States