Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
OH. MY. GOD!!! So, I don't measure ingredients ever. I just go by my own personal measuring system, but I stayed within the limits of this recipe and I nearly ate half of the sauce before I even refrigerated it! Hahaha... I've never wanted to attempt to make this because I've had it at tons of Greek restaurants and it was ALWAYS phenomenal. This is by far one of the best tzatziki sauces I've ever had. And I made it! *doing happy dance*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Excellent recipe!! The only thing I do different, and it works well, when I grate my cucumber I use 4 layers of papper towel and absorb the moisture out of the cucumber in this way. The mint and real greek yoghurt is what makes this recipe!! We are such big fans at home, we use it on everything. I make a fresh batch every week, and sometimes 2. I can't believe I'm only the 2nd person testing and at least rating this recipe from Chef John. You must try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyKathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I am a first timer to this recipe, but because chief John is at the helm and the fact that I love him and would follow him anywhere I took the plunge. As usual an excellent and fun recipe. It will become a frequent dish at my house. Thank you so much for sharing chief John, take care and God bless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I have made other Tzatziki sauces and this is by far the WORST. It had an over powering garlic taste, a very spicy aftertaste because of the cayenne pepper(I wouldn't use it), and it was too sour from too much lemon and I only used half as much as it asked for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Chef John is a delight to watch in his video. I really wanted to love his recipe too, but it had a terribly sour aftertaste. After letting it sit, I tried adding sugar, salt, even blue cheese to bring out a richer flavor, but nothing could cover up that taste. Having had tzatziki sauce many times, including in Greece, it did not compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
The texture was nice, but way to much garlic and I didn't like the cayenne with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
An authentic tzatziki sauce. Simple, good ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAR122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crivitz, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I made this exact, only substituting almost a full tablespoon of dried dill weed for the fresh and I omitted the mint only because I didn't have any. I made this early in the morning so it could chill in the fridge all day. Not ashamed at all to admit I ate the whole thing with Stacy's Pita Chips. We'll...........kind of. But it was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
So some say this is the authentic tzatiki sauce, well it's not what my family is use too so while it was ok it was different. I followed the recipe exactly. The difference was it was to tangy sour. The greek yogurt just overwhelmed the whole dish. We couldn't taste the mint at all. I let it rest in the fridge overnight but it only made the aftertaste more sour tasting. Think I will try another recipe for this sauce to compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
It was okay, but I wasn't really impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States