Chef John's Twice-Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I love this technique for cutting the tops and stuffing these spuds. The Paprika on top gives these a nice colorful touch. I had to leave the egg yolk out - due to allergy concerns - I just added a spoon of sour cream to help hold it all together. Can be made ahead. Very nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by ashleymarie856
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This is so easy. I always thought twice baked potatoes looked nice, but I didn't know how easy they were to make. I wish I would have had some chives to go on top of these, that would have made them perfect! I'm keeping this recipe for sure. It is something I think you can tailor to suit multiple occasions and dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleymarie856

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Negaunee, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Simple, great, versatile, to the point. Good food, delicious. The boy pretty much demanded I make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Love Chef John, he makes cooking fun,,,, and these taters are superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holyoke1959
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
My family raved about these potatoes... definitely worth the extra effort for a special occasion. I had no heavy cream on hand and had substituted about 1/3 c. of cream cheese (1/3 less fat version) and 2 Tbsp. of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This was great. I've made twice baked potatoes before and I'm throwing out that old recipe for this one. It had much more flavor (the amount of butter probably helped) and I liked the cayenne and paprika. I added ground beef in mine to make it a main dish. I didn't have any heavy cream on hand (who does?) so I subbed whole milk and melted butter (it says online that can be a substitute). It turned out great. I also sprinkled cheese on top before I threw it in a second time. Dipped it in some barbecue sauce and it was amazing (although it's fine without the sauce, too). The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars it because of the time it took. But definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
These potatoes were very flavorful with the green onion mixed in. I chose this recipe because I was out of sour cream and this recipe doesn't call for it. And you don't miss it. I did add a little garlic salt for extra flavor, and I used yellow cheddar as I did not have white. I like that the section sliced off the top is used inside the shell. No waste! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This was my first time making twice-baked potatoes, and they came out truly delicious. I remember in Chef John's video for this recipe that he said he hoped people would experiment and do their own take on the perfect twice-baked potato, so I did. :) My own version of this will be quite different from this, but first of all, I took his advice and chose very round potatoes for baking. I added sour cream, shredded cheddar cheese, butter, and a little paprika, salt, and pepper. I feel like this is a base model for whatever kind of potatoes you want to have. It was fun to experiment. My husband and I scarfed these down with 57 Sauce. (I know, completely unlike this recipe, but I'm taking Chef John's advice and that's my excuse.) These looked really classy, too. Will make again and again! Thanks, Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I made these for dinner guests and they were light, fluffy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I added Crawfish, and more cheese and chives. with chives on top. wonderful just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice-Baked Potatoes

See a terrific technique for making tasty twice-baked potatoes.

Chef John’s Truffled Potato Gratin

A creamy potato gratin starring a special truffle-studded Italian cheese.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States