Chef John's Twice-Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
These potatoes were very flavorful with the green onion mixed in. I chose this recipe because I was out of sour cream and this recipe doesn't call for it. And you don't miss it. I did add a little garlic salt for extra flavor, and I used yellow cheddar as I did not have white. I like that the section sliced off the top is used inside the shell. No waste! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This was my first time making twice-baked potatoes, and they came out truly delicious. I remember in Chef John's video for this recipe that he said he hoped people would experiment and do their own take on the perfect twice-baked potato, so I did. :) My own version of this will be quite different from this, but first of all, I took his advice and chose very round potatoes for baking. I added sour cream, shredded cheddar cheese, butter, and a little paprika, salt, and pepper. I feel like this is a base model for whatever kind of potatoes you want to have. It was fun to experiment. My husband and I scarfed these down with 57 Sauce. (I know, completely unlike this recipe, but I'm taking Chef John's advice and that's my excuse.) These looked really classy, too. Will make again and again! Thanks, Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I added Crawfish, and more cheese and chives. with chives on top. wonderful just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I made these for dinner guests and they were light, fluffy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This recipe made me look like a pro all your tips in the video ( you must watch it there are tricks you never would have thought of ) thank you! Making again for Mother's Day. Love the hot pepper .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Unbelievably fantastic! Followed the recipe exactly but for a minor substitution of 1/4 c. of sour cream + 1/4 c. of milk for the heavy cream. It's time consuming to make these, but so worth it when you have the time. They look gorgeous and would be great for a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Great to make ahead. You can also freeze them. Any combination of cream, butter, and cheese works well to give the creamy taste and tang of cheese. Hard to ruin this recipe. Never any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Very Beautiful, Festive and Yummmy. I added Peccorino Romano and Parmesan Cheese instead of Cheddar and some Garlic Chives It was a hit. Thank you Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Imane
Home Town: Beirut, Beirut, Lebanon
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This is the perfect base recipe! Omitted egg yolk. Subbed Gk yogurt for cream. Added a little garlic powder. Freezes well. I've also used sweet potatoes/yams. I've added to the filling/stuffing or used as various toppings: cooked, crumpled bacon; chives, green onions, salsa. Also, can be turned from side dish into an entree very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I love this technique for cutting the tops and stuffing these spuds. The Paprika on top gives these a nice colorful touch. I had to leave the egg yolk out - due to allergy concerns - I just added a spoon of sour cream to help hold it all together. Can be made ahead. Very nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice-Baked Potatoes

See a terrific technique for making tasty twice-baked potatoes.

Chef John’s Truffled Potato Gratin

A creamy potato gratin starring a special truffle-studded Italian cheese.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States