Chef John's Twice-Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I adjusted this recipe just a little. I decided to use regular diced yellow onion I hate buying special onions just for one recipe. I added bacon to the potato mixture and added a mixed blend of white and yellow cheddar. After I fried the bacon I drained off the grease and put in the diced yellow onion in the same pan just to soften them (maybe 5 min). I used the entire pint of heavy cream, fresh ground pepper and salt. Added a few dashes of the cayenne pepper and three tablespoons of butter. I added some more bacon to the top of potatoes then brushed with melted butter. These twice baked potatoes are worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
These spuds are delicious!! For my version I left out the egg, but added crumbled bacon, some SOFTENED cream cheese, sour cream, milk, jalapeño cheese, and sautéed onions. YUM, YUM, YUM!! I made enough so each person could have 2, and I'm glad I did as my friends inhaled them! I still have friends that talk about these potatoes! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Loved these! Yes, any twice baked potato recipe will be time consuming, but if you plan ahead they become very easy. I did not have heavy cream so substituted cream cheese and 2T milk and they were the perfect consistency. Great recipe to personalize, too. When I was a child my dad always added Beau Monde spice seasoning to baked potatoes. It adds a definite flavor in this recipe also. I loved the idea of placing the top skins inside the potato. Nothing is wasted. Enjoyed these a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Second time making these - first for Father's Day and tonight for a nothing special day cause that's how great these potatoes are! I did skip the egg yolk last time but may throw it in today. No green onions on hand but have some chives which will work fine. Great great recipe - love Chef John and not his first recipe have tried and loved also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Yum...yum...yum... Only had two potatoes but followed the recipe as written with amounts indicated...other than substituting cheddar cheese for white cheddar (our grocery didn't carry it). Since I had so much fillling, omitted putting the tops in the bottoms of the potatoes before stuffing them so I'd have more room to use all the stuffing. Turned out awesome!! Definitely a "keeper" recipe!! Next time I may put cheese on top about 10 minutes before potatoes are cooked (based on another reviewer's suggestion), but that's only because my husband and I are big cheese fans :-). Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
YUM! These were so creamy for only using a fork to mix. I usually use a potato masher. I decided to spray the potatoes with Pam spray instead of using oil. I always use oil, can't say why I went with Pam. Came out perfect! And no greasy hands to wash. So simple and easy to put together. I love the flavor that the green onions give these potatoes. Oh so good and pretty. Sorry Chef John, but I am going to follow this recipe exactly, why mess with a great thing? But I might add bacon next time, bacon makes everything better! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Very good taste. Consistency was a little too thin for me. They seeped out of the potato skin while baking down the sides to the pan. I will still make them again because they tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Best baked potatoes ever and *so* easy to make!!! Everyone loved theses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This was very good, thanks for the technique walk through!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice-Baked Potatoes

See a terrific technique for making tasty twice-baked potatoes.

Chef John’s Truffled Potato Gratin

A creamy potato gratin starring a special truffle-studded Italian cheese.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States