Chef John's Turkey Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Soooo good! I made this as written. I served mine on open faced toasted potato bread and it was delicious! I don't do well with sloppy! Haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This was the absolute BEST sloppy joe ever! I would say it's a sophisticated sloppy joe that your kids will still LOVE! I made it exactly as the recipe is written although I left out the green onion just because I thought there was enough onion in it already....and I am cooking for a 4 year old! I am now going to look for more Chef John recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Photo by BevKat
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Perfection! BF and I loved it! I didn't have cheddar,used Havarti-Jalapeno. Used white wine instead of water. Next time 1/2 cup sugar, not 3/4. But that's just me. The recipe is GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
So I know 99% of my reviews are positive but I think I've just been picking fantastic recipes to try :) But this...wow. Seriously. Family seems to want something different all the time (the nerve! lol) and I had a massive amount of ground turkey in the freezer. I'd already tried the turkey meatloaf on here and wanted something different. Reviewers are spot on with the positive raves..this is incredible! As someone said, this is clearly chef created. The cocoa and cayenne add something you can't quite put your finger on when they are all blended together. I used extra lean turkey but barely needed any water (around 1/4 cup if that) cause we like it chunky rather than soupy. I needed to stop myself from eating it all out of the skillet! You won't be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsBrupson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Fantastic recipe! We don't care for ground turkey, but these were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harmony, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
This was another great recipe by Chef John, haven't tried one that is bad yet. Like some other reviewers, I did add a little white vinegar and some garlic powder, but that's it. Was good fresh and just as good, if not better, heated up for lunch the next day. I had several co-workers who came over to find out what smelled so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This was really tasty and quite easy. I left out the cheese and green onions so the kids would eat it. Everyone ate it all up without noticing they were eating turkey so its a winner in my book. Be mindful of the cayenne for the heat sensitive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This recipe was quick easy and very tasty! Thank you Chef! Loved it and so did my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hourglasswman
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
If you are anything like me you often cruise these reviews to see what can be added or left off. I don't have a functioning stove so let's start right there. I made this in the crockpot. I probably wouldn't add the water next time because it came out really watery but OMG, it's so freakin good! I added some green pepper cause I had to use it, in lieu of brown sugar I used 1T white sugar with 1T maple syrup, but otherwise I cooked it as directed. I ate it straight out of the pot without cheese, green onion, or the roll. I will make this again, and again, and again. Maybe it will even make it onto a bun or two ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
We loved this! It was so flavorful! Even my boyfriend who is not a sloppy joes fan raved about this! Made exactly as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States