Chef John's Turkey Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I used half as much onion and butter, out of personal preference; half as much brown sugar, because I have to watch my carbs; and half as much cayenne, because I'm a wuss. :-) I still found the finished product to be a little sweet and a little hot, but my goodness, SO delicious! I knew as soon as I saw cocoa in the ingredient list that I would love it, and I do. Thank you so much for sharing this creative and easy recipe, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
When I think of sloppy joes I don't think spicy and these were spicy. My kids wouldn't eat them and normally they love them. I used half of what to recipe called for. Disappointing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I still like my beef version better but this is definitely decent for a turkey version. I'll add more cayenne next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Chef John these were really good! Normally, your recipes are a little too hot for me. So, I just did 1/8 tsp. of cayenne. I learned from experience on that. I used 1 lb of all white ground turkey meat and organic ketchup from Trader Joes. I suppose they would be only better tasting, if I used a fattier turkey choice and sweeter ketchup. I also only had approximately 1/4 cup left of green onion and it worked fine. I got enough filling for 8 buns instead of the 6. As this was quite easy, I would make them again. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Oh lawd, I tried it and did exactly what the recipe said except that I added a little more ketchup to counter the cayenne, 1/2 teaspoon of dry mustard powder and 1/4 cup finely chopped celery sticks. The thing was the bomb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Soooo good! I made this as written. I served mine on open faced toasted potato bread and it was delicious! I don't do well with sloppy! Haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This was the absolute BEST sloppy joe ever! I would say it's a sophisticated sloppy joe that your kids will still LOVE! I made it exactly as the recipe is written although I left out the green onion just because I thought there was enough onion in it already....and I am cooking for a 4 year old! I am now going to look for more Chef John recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Photo by BevKat
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Perfection! BF and I loved it! I didn't have cheddar,used Havarti-Jalapeno. Used white wine instead of water. Next time 1/2 cup ketchup, not 3/4. But that's just me. The recipe is GREAT. 2nd time I made it....I used 3/4 ketchup, but a tad less brown sugar. Still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
So I know 99% of my reviews are positive but I think I've just been picking fantastic recipes to try :) But this...wow. Seriously. Family seems to want something different all the time (the nerve! lol) and I had a massive amount of ground turkey in the freezer. I'd already tried the turkey meatloaf on here and wanted something different. Reviewers are spot on with the positive raves..this is incredible! As someone said, this is clearly chef created. The cocoa and cayenne add something you can't quite put your finger on when they are all blended together. I used extra lean turkey but barely needed any water (around 1/4 cup if that) cause we like it chunky rather than soupy. I needed to stop myself from eating it all out of the skillet! You won't be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsBrupson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Fantastic recipe! We don't care for ground turkey, but these were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harmony, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States