Chef John's Turkey Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
My wife and I made these last night. My wife is typically not a sloppy joe person, but she and I both absolutely loved them. Great flavor with a little bit of zip, and not overly heavy like some sloppy joes can be. We cooked the turkey a couple of extra minutes at the start, and only added 1/4 cup of extra water later in the recipe just to make sure the mixture had enough liquid to get some good cooking time. We had them with some watermelon, made for a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I typically put less onion than called for in most of my cooking, and I'm glad I did that here, as 1/2 an onion was more than enough for me. The only other variation I made was adding about another 1/4 cup of ketchup after tasting it at the start of the long simmering process. At that point I felt the onion was dominating the flavor more than I wanted, so I just squeezed in some more ketchup and it balanced out perfectly to my taste. It had a nice spicy heat that lingered, but not a real sharp initial bite to it. The turkey was very tender and moist, and I didn't miss the beef at all. I only had to add about 1/2 cup of water over the whole simmering time, which I did for a little over 30 minutes. I also made this in a 5 qt dutch oven instead of a skillet/saute pan, because my stove/burners are not level and I worried that it would slop over the side. I think it made the simmer take a bit longer, but it was easier to control and stir without making a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Oh my goodness,we loved these Sloppy Toms!! Followed the recipe exactly with the exception of only having 1 lb of turkey and using monterey cheese because it was the only cheese on hand. Chef John's recipes are always delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Chef John, my family loved your Turkey Sloppy Joes. I increased the recipe to make 24 servings to feed mine and two other families with whom I do a weekly meal swap. My family, including my daughter who does not like traditional Sloppy Joes, agreed this recipe is a repeat. Bravo from one turkey lover to another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Hubby is giving 'Sheriff John's" recipe 5 stars! (Is this another Sheriff John recipe?) LOL...He is a happy man. This took me a bit longer than stated - probably not the recipes fault, it was just me wanting to make sure the seasoning was gently cooked into the meat. I served this on a toasted whole wheat bun with spicy sweet potato fries. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I wasn't in the mood to cook tonight. Made this recipe following Chef John's video, adding ingredients to taste rather than following this recipe. I was surprised it tasted so good considering the amount of effort I put in. That rarely happens! Don't omit the cayenne or cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
great weekday meal! I kept going back for more and my family of 3 devoured the whole dish! Might scale back the br sugar next time. it was great as is but think it would be just as good and a tad lighter if the sugar was knocked back a notch or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This recipe was very very good!! We cut it down to 2 servings for my husband and myself. Followed everything exactly. I've made it twice now and was licking the plate! Thanks Chef John :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emjayrunner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
By far the best Sloppy Joe, Tom, Dick or Harry I've ever had - the consistency was perfect, maybe because of the water? The ONLY thing I will change next time is to cut the amt of sugar in half. Too lazy to buy buns, just toasted a piece of whole wheat bread and spooned the mixture over; excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This was FANTASTIC! I will definitely be making this again...and again...and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA
Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States