Chef John's Turkey Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Hubby is giving 'Sheriff John's" recipe 5 stars! (Is this another Sheriff John recipe?) LOL...He is a happy man. This took me a bit longer than stated - probably not the recipes fault, it was just me wanting to make sure the seasoning was gently cooked into the meat. I served this on a toasted whole wheat bun with spicy sweet potato fries. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
My wife and I made these last night. My wife is typically not a sloppy joe person, but she and I both absolutely loved them. Great flavor with a little bit of zip, and not overly heavy like some sloppy joes can be. We cooked the turkey a couple of extra minutes at the start, and only added 1/4 cup of extra water later in the recipe just to make sure the mixture had enough liquid to get some good cooking time. We had them with some watermelon, made for a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Chef John, my family loved your Turkey Sloppy Joes. I increased the recipe to make 24 servings to feed mine and two other families with whom I do a weekly meal swap. My family, including my daughter who does not like traditional Sloppy Joes, agreed this recipe is a repeat. Bravo from one turkey lover to another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I wasn't in the mood to cook tonight. Made this recipe following Chef John's video, adding ingredients to taste rather than following this recipe. I was surprised it tasted so good considering the amount of effort I put in. That rarely happens! Don't omit the cayenne or cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This was a very good way to eat turkey. In fact, my husband loved it- he loves spicy things. I gave it 4 stars because, as printed. it was a bit too hot for my son and I. We'll definitely make it again, probably with a pinch less cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This was FANTASTIC! I will definitely be making this again...and again...and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA
Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I typically put less onion than called for in most of my cooking, and I'm glad I did that here, as 1/2 an onion was more than enough for me. The only other variation I made was adding about another 1/4 cup of ketchup after tasting it at the start of the long simmering process. At that point I felt the onion was dominating the flavor more than I wanted, so I just squeezed in some more ketchup and it balanced out perfectly to my taste. It had a nice spicy heat that lingered, but not a real sharp initial bite to it. The turkey was very tender and moist, and I didn't miss the beef at all. I only had to add about 1/2 cup of water over the whole simmering time, which I did for a little over 30 minutes. I also made this in a 5 qt dutch oven instead of a skillet/saute pan, because my stove/burners are not level and I worried that it would slop over the side. I think it made the simmer take a bit longer, but it was easier to control and stir without making a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Recipe was pretty decent, except I made a few changes! First or all I added fresh minced garlic and a half of a chopped green bell pepper when I sautéed the onion. This definitely enhanced the flavor! Then I also added a couple tablespoons of Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce when I added the ketchup, as well as a can of tomato paste to thicken it up a bit. Also probably a teaspoon of yellow mustard was added. I omitted the cocoa powder because I didn't have any, and I don't think I really needed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
These were good, although a bit on the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This recipe was very very good!! We cut it down to 2 servings for my husband and myself. Followed everything exactly. I've made it twice now and was licking the plate! Thanks Chef John :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emjayrunner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States