Chef John's Turkey Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I made this exactly as written and it is hands down the best sloppy joes I have ever had in my life. I can't believe it's turkey. Also we have had it over polenta which was sinfully good (I'm wheat free) AND no mess. I can see this being excellent as something you make before hand and warm up in a slow cooker. I found the flavors were ever better two days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I absolutely loved this recipe as I wanted something for ground turkey...this was a winner! I didn't have butter so I used olive oil and added some minced garlic and 1 TBS apple cider vinegar for a kick. I noticed the 1/2 cup of water made it to soupy so I won't add it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. Was pleasantly surprised and I'm switching this to my go to recipe for sloppy joes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This will become a go-to quick dinner in our home! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Made this as written except I omitted the cheese since my husband doesn't like it. 5 stars from the adults, but the 6 year old said it was too spicy. Honestly it was barely spicy to me and my husband didn't even notice any spice, but next time I'll cut back on the cayenne for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Always fun to try a new recipe. These were easy and tasty. I prepared as written with the exception of no cheese. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I wasn't sure I would like the cocoa powder, but this was good. My only changes were to use just a sprinkle of cayenne because my kids don't like spicy food, and I skipped the green onion. Also I used a small chunk of smoked cheddar, diced. Kids ate on toasted buns, I ate it on a bed of kale because I'm weird and healthy that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Tons of flavor to enjoy! Highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Shamong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Thanks Chef John for an excellent recipe!!!! I, like the other reviewers, will be making this again as it has become 1 of my favorite, simple to make yet very delicious meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This was great! I didn't have any cocoa powder but it was still delicious and filled me up after a 13 hour work day, with just a glass of wine on the side ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States