Chef John's Turkey Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Made this for friends who cannot eat meat. It was a big hit. Followed the recipe exactly. (I did skim the fat off the top at the end of cooking.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChattTraveler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Delicious as is. Definatly a repeat in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Awesome! Yes, it's a lot of ketchup, but if you're okay with the sugar content then this is "a keeper" recipe. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanei Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
My teenage boys loved it and they're as picky as toddlers these days. Adding the cheese at the end give it a great texture. That little bit of chocolate give a great depth to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Very yummy! If you are sensitive to heat, use half the amount of cayenne pepper. My hubby ended up eating two helpings he loved it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I don't usually post reviews on here (sorry, I know I should) but I felt the need to post one here. I have to say that I was a bit skeptical about Turkey "sloppy joes" but I decided to give this a try since it's what I had available to cook and the reviews seem to be all for it. MAN AM I GLAD I TRIED IT!!! These were absolutely AMAZING. I have to say that I followed the recipe exactly as stated (except the cheese, I didn't have any at the time). My husband could not believe that I made turkey sloppy joes, needless to say, he went in for seconds. The cayenne pepper gives it a spicy kick which is great for spicy lovers. If you are not into spicy, omit that portion altogether and you still have a great dish. This was extremely quick and a new family favorite. Thank you Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
This is the third time I've made this for my family of very picky eaters and everyone absolutely loves it! It is so tasty! Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Really good. The kids (6 and 9) loved them. They each had two giant buns. It was a really good sloppy joe and I don't think they even noticed it was turkey. I found it lighter than beef, which was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
What a delicious recipe. A very nice change from what has become very boring sloppy joe night. Everyone in the family devours it. I double it to feed our 3 almost grown kids, and there is enough leftover for hubby's lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I usually don't make my sloppy joes from scratch but glad I did this time! So much better than from a can! Very tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

Chef John's Boneless Whole Turkey

Watch Chef John bone, stuff, roll, and tie up a turkey.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States