Chef John's Turkey Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Delicious. I have never enjoyed ground turkey so much. this is a really tasty recipe -- everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Made the recipe as is and it's DELICIOUS! This has become our family's go-to recipe for sloppy joes. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This recipe was delicious! We had some turkey and didn't know what to do with it. I added just a touch of cayenne, since I have a young, non-spicy eater. My husband and kids enjoyed it, so I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I used half as much onion and butter, out of personal preference; half as much brown sugar, because I have to watch my carbs; and half as much cayenne, because I'm a wuss. :-) I still found the finished product to be a little sweet and a little hot, but my goodness, SO delicious! I knew as soon as I saw cocoa in the ingredient list that I would love it, and I do. Thank you so much for sharing this creative and easy recipe, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
When I think of sloppy joes I don't think spicy and these were spicy. My kids wouldn't eat them and normally they love them. I used half of what to recipe called for. Disappointing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I still like my beef version better but this is definitely decent for a turkey version. I'll add more cayenne next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Chef John these were really good! Normally, your recipes are a little too hot for me. So, I just did 1/8 tsp. of cayenne. I learned from experience on that. I used 1 lb of all white ground turkey meat and organic ketchup from Trader Joes. I suppose they would be only better tasting, if I used a fattier turkey choice and sweeter ketchup. I also only had approximately 1/4 cup left of green onion and it worked fine. I got enough filling for 8 buns instead of the 6. As this was quite easy, I would make them again. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Oh lawd, I tried it and did exactly what the recipe said except that I added a little more ketchup to counter the cayenne, 1/2 teaspoon of dry mustard powder and 1/4 cup finely chopped celery sticks. The thing was the bomb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Soooo good! I made this as written. I served mine on open faced toasted potato bread and it was delicious! I don't do well with sloppy! Haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This was the absolute BEST sloppy joe ever! I would say it's a sophisticated sloppy joe that your kids will still LOVE! I made it exactly as the recipe is written although I left out the green onion just because I thought there was enough onion in it already....and I am cooking for a 4 year old! I am now going to look for more Chef John recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States