Chef John's Turkey Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
We liked it but found that 1/2 teaspoon was too much cayanne pepper. And it was way too sweet for me. I may or may not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
My son loved it. My husband and I thought it was ok but probably won't be making it anytime soon. It was an easy recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Loved it! Throwback to my childhood, but healthier and tastier! Watched the video. Your method of cooking the turkey (with the water and sautéed onions) was spot on for a very tender filling. I added just a pinch of cayenne to account for my family's sensitive taste buds, adding a bit extra Worcestershire sauce instead, but no other changes. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Loved these! I have a regular recipe that I use and always substitute turkey for the ground beef, but thought I would try a recipe that was originally based on turkey. We all loved it and will definitely be making this again...many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Didnt know what to cook so tried this. Was great, added pickles to the sandwiches and decided next time will add a touch of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Was okay. Didn't think there was enough sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Delicious! Made mostly as directed except added a diced green pepper when browning the meat. Slightly misread the instructions and added the meat, onion and half cup water all at once, didn't seem to matter though. Served with some tater tots. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This was amazing! I didn't include the green onions, as I didn't have any, and I added a bell pepper. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Sparks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Nice blend of flavors. Added a diced jalapeno pepper into the onions for some extra heat. A real winner, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Cocoa powder adds such a great deep flavor and color without being able to identify it as cocoa at all. Genius ingredient used here as it makes the lean turkey taste richer...you won't miss the ground beef. Also cayenne elevates the flavor too, balances the sweet. I buttered brioche rolls and toasted them and made a quick pickled red onion with just vinegar and s&p to put on top. I actually forgot the cheese, wished I remembered it. I did leave out the water when I was browning the turkey but added a cup at the end per the recipe to make it saucy. An easy 5 star recipe with such little effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

Chef John's Boneless Whole Turkey

Watch Chef John bone, stuff, roll, and tie up a turkey.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States