Chef John's Turkey Noodle Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by puerca83
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I really appreciated how creative this recipe was in contrast to other recipes (like pot pies!) that you can use for leftover turkey. The curry sounded weird at first, but don't skip it...it's what makes this recipe really good. Also be sure to use the pepper jack--it really compliments the curry and brings out some unique flavors. I might add a bit more cheese next time, like some sharp cheddar as well. Though I thought using potato chips as the crunchy topping was really neat, their texture didn't hold up well (too thin) with all the sauce, especially for next-day servings. I think I would go back to using cheese toast or croutons next time or maybe even try something like Cheezits or Triscuits to get the cheesy/salty flavor. I followed the amount of milk and condensed soup exactly and it made the perfect consistency of sauce--usually I find casserole recipes end up being too runny, but this one is spot on. It was great because I always cook too much pasta when I'm making dinners and this was a great way to use up leftover pasta, too. I used elbow macaroni and they held up really well, probably better than egg noodles would. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Either I made it wrong or this was the worst recipe I've ever tried. It tasted bland and chalky and just overall terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Easy recipe and good for leftover Thanksgiving turkey! I omitted the chips and just added more cheese. Family enjoyed the new dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This recipe reminded me of an old tuna casserole recipe. Didn't care for the Graham Marsala at all! IF I ever make this again, I will use spices my family likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This recipe sounded delicious.. and I thought I had all the ingredients.. but did not have any tarragon or garam masala... So I had to substitute too... I used some winter savory, some weber kicken chicken seasoning, a dash of turmeric. I sauteed the onion and chopped green onion in the butter added the seasoning to it.. and followed the rest of the recipe... IT is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I've loved every recipe from Chef John --except this one. The thyme was way too strong (and I put less than a teaspoon in), same for the garam masala. It also took me a lot longer to prepare than 15 minutes. In the end it tasted like a glorified tuna casserole (with turkey.) Not bad, but the prep and clean-up don't make it worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
A perfect way to use the leftover turkey when we couldn't take one more turkey sandwich. Very unique flavor combo. I didnt have store bought Garam masala on hand so I followed one of the recipes on here to mix my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMCLRH2O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I thought this was good because it has a different flavor profile than most poultry casseroles. I made it and then froze it for several weeks before reheating it, which worked fine. I just didn't add the chip topping until after it was mostly reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This recipe sounds so good, but it was just OK... not the result I expected. Not likely to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Chef John's Boneless Whole Turkey

Watch Chef John bone, stuff, roll, and tie up a turkey.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States