Chef John's Turkey Noodle Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
This was just ok and rather disappointing. I could hardly taste the garam masala or tarragon. I would increase these spices next time or use curry as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I rate this a 5-star recipe though I made a few changes which change most everything. However, without the basics of this recipe I would never have turned out such a delicious casserole. My changes were mild cheddar rather than pepper jack, because it is what I had, and Fox Point seasoning rather than garam masala, for the same reason. The flavor was perfect but more than that the casserole had the perfect consistency and was neither too dry nor too wet. There are only two of us so this made enough to freeze for several more dinners, which makes it an instant hit in my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I made this casserole for my husband, after the first bite I packed it up and took it to my daughter and family. We all loved it, the flavors were perfect (I never had used garam masala before.I will make this every year after Thanksgiving instead of the boring Turkey pot pie. Thank you so much for this delicious meal. Cheri
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I knew garam masala would give it a curry taste and smell, but for me it didn't fit this type of dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Spahr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
The first time I made this recipe I didn't have turkey in fridge. I had chicken breast instead. So, I cooked up the chicken. And Chef uses mushroom soup and my husband doesn't like mushrooms. Period. So, I used cream of chicken instead. And instead of crushed chip, I used Panko bread crumbs. IT WAS AWESOME! The second time I made this, I used leftover turkey. IT WAS YUMMY! BIG THUMBS UP CHEF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Very good. Interesting flavours and a very useful way to use up the last of the turkey. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
My family really loved this recipe. Just the right amount of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Very good way to use leftover turkey I had in freezer. Did not have tarragon or garam masala (never heard of it ), so I just used a small amount of poultry seasoning. This made a huge amount, I made three 8 inch casseroles, froze two for future, and the other fed hubby and I for two nights. This was a very mellow dish, no strong flavors, at least the way I made it, with the missing ingredients. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New London, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
It was edible but not something I would make again unless I was out of ideas.. I'm not a fan on the garam masala flavor yet I found this dish to be lacking on overall flavor even with that strong spice mix. I used pepperjack and it was too spicy- I love pepperjack usually but this overdid it. If I did it again, I would use a different cheese, more of it, add sour cream for more creaminess and perhaps some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This is super easy to make and super easy to customize. I was trying to finish off leftover turkey so I used whatever ingredients on hand. The only spices I used were salt, pepper and curry powder (next time I'm adding more curry poweder!). I had shredded colbie jack cheese, so that's what I used. And NO veggies (though this recipe could accomidate any number of veggies). Came out very tasty! My daughter loved it, I thought it needed a bit of spice...so added Chili Pepper Sauce (trader joes) to my serving and it was wonderful! I would even add the chili sauce to the recipe next time so it cooked in...even jalepenos would be good! Oh, and the best alteration I did...was use crushed Cheeze-Its (mixed with some bread crumbs) on top instead of the potato chips. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Carriveau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Chef John's Boneless Whole Turkey

Watch Chef John bone, stuff, roll, and tie up a turkey.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States