Chef John's Turkey Noodle Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
The first time I made this recipe I didn't have turkey in fridge. I had chicken breast instead. So, I cooked up the chicken. And Chef uses mushroom soup and my husband doesn't like mushrooms. Period. So, I used cream of chicken instead. And instead of crushed chip, I used Panko bread crumbs. IT WAS AWESOME! The second time I made this, I used leftover turkey. IT WAS YUMMY! BIG THUMBS UP CHEF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Very good. Interesting flavours and a very useful way to use up the last of the turkey. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
My family really loved this recipe. Just the right amount of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Very good way to use leftover turkey I had in freezer. Did not have tarragon or garam masala (never heard of it ), so I just used a small amount of poultry seasoning. This made a huge amount, I made three 8 inch casseroles, froze two for future, and the other fed hubby and I for two nights. This was a very mellow dish, no strong flavors, at least the way I made it, with the missing ingredients. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New London, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
It was edible but not something I would make again unless I was out of ideas.. I'm not a fan on the garam masala flavor yet I found this dish to be lacking on overall flavor even with that strong spice mix. I used pepperjack and it was too spicy- I love pepperjack usually but this overdid it. If I did it again, I would use a different cheese, more of it, add sour cream for more creaminess and perhaps some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This is super easy to make and super easy to customize. I was trying to finish off leftover turkey so I used whatever ingredients on hand. The only spices I used were salt, pepper and curry powder (next time I'm adding more curry poweder!). I had shredded colbie jack cheese, so that's what I used. And NO veggies (though this recipe could accomidate any number of veggies). Came out very tasty! My daughter loved it, I thought it needed a bit of spice...so added Chili Pepper Sauce (trader joes) to my serving and it was wonderful! I would even add the chili sauce to the recipe next time so it cooked in...even jalepenos would be good! Oh, and the best alteration I did...was use crushed Cheeze-Its (mixed with some bread crumbs) on top instead of the potato chips. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Carriveau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by puerca83
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I really appreciated how creative this recipe was in contrast to other recipes (like pot pies!) that you can use for leftover turkey. The curry sounded weird at first, but don't skip it...it's what makes this recipe really good. Also be sure to use the pepper jack--it really compliments the curry and brings out some unique flavors. I might add a bit more cheese next time, like some sharp cheddar as well. Though I thought using potato chips as the crunchy topping was really neat, their texture didn't hold up well (too thin) with all the sauce, especially for next-day servings. I think I would go back to using cheese toast or croutons next time or maybe even try something like Cheezits or Triscuits to get the cheesy/salty flavor. I followed the amount of milk and condensed soup exactly and it made the perfect consistency of sauce--usually I find casserole recipes end up being too runny, but this one is spot on. It was great because I always cook too much pasta when I'm making dinners and this was a great way to use up leftover pasta, too. I used elbow macaroni and they held up really well, probably better than egg noodles would. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Either I made it wrong or this was the worst recipe I've ever tried. It tasted bland and chalky and just overall terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Easy recipe and good for leftover Thanksgiving turkey! I omitted the chips and just added more cheese. Family enjoyed the new dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This recipe reminded me of an old tuna casserole recipe. Didn't care for the Graham Marsala at all! IF I ever make this again, I will use spices my family likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Chef John's Boneless Whole Turkey

Watch Chef John bone, stuff, roll, and tie up a turkey.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States