Chef John's Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
DELICIOUS!! We followed the recipe as written and loved every bite of this spicy, tender chili. Thanks for posting, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I was abit leary, but this is very good! I didnot use the avocado. The cocoa gave it a nice smoky flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Really nice flavor. I am somewhat of a wimp when it comes to spices, so I cut the ancho powder, chipotle powder and cayenne in half, but left the other spices as is. It was at maximum warmth for me, but had enough fire to keep El Hothead happy. Also had to add a cup more of water than called for. Chili goes really well with hard cider or beer! Or is the other way 'round? Well done, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I made this the other day for a chili cook off at my job. I omitted the beans (I don't like beans), I put corn in it. I used diced tomatoes, added some sugar for a little sweetness and threw in a few dried chile pods. Long story short, I won the cook off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This was very good. It does have a good spicy kick to it which I really liked and the spice doesn't overpower the actual flavour. I did have to make adjustments due to what was available to me at the store and what I already had on hand. I didn't have turkey so just used ground beef and this worked out fine. I couldn't find the ground chipotle pepper so I used smoked paprika instead. I also used an entire 28 oz can of tomato puree and no water and it wasn't too tomatoey. I used some extra beans (2 cans of kidney beans and one can of romano beans.) I usually put veggies in my chili and I was missing that crunch and texture so I think next time, I'll try some celery and green pepper. The spice blend in this chili was really good and I think it would be good as a rub for meat, as well. Very adaptable and delicious recipe with a lot of possibilities. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Awesome spice mix! Complex flavors. It is worthwhile to get the freshest chile powders such as from Penzey's Spices. Adjust the heat as tolerated as it makes for a pretty intense flavor with how it is written. Will definitely make again during this winter session.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Great taste..a little thin though...added a little corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
no way was I putting 1/4 cup of any kind of chili powder in this. I cut way back on the ancho and it was still hot enough. I happened to have some canned pumpkin left over from so I tossed that in and used chicken stock instead of water. Added a bell pepper because I had one of them too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
This recipe was absolutely amazing and definitely not too spicy, in fact I did not notice much spice. I made it last night and might go back and get more ground turkey to make the full amount. I had cut it down to three servings instead of 6 and am really regretting having done that! The flavors in the spices were phenomenal. I didn't have a lot of time to wait for it to simmer so used the pressure cooker on low for about 25 minutes, added the beans and waited another 20 and wish I had more of this right now. SO DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This is a great recipe and the cocoa powder was a great addition! Amazing how a little cocoa powder added so much flavor! I have also made this chili with ground chicken instead of turkey and we like it better with chicken. Either way it's a great recipe. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Boneless Whole Turkey

Watch Chef John bone, stuff, roll, and tie up a turkey.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States