Chef John's Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
We loved this chili! I will make it again for my husbands birthday party. It is spicy so just put less spice and add until it is right for you. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Spicy but very tasty. Added an extra can of maple flavoured beans. Will use this recipe again. Thanks chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I heart this recipe so so much!!! I love that the flavor is complex - you can adjust the heat. And what I love most is using the chili spice as a rub on grilled chicken and fish. When I make this recipe, I double the spices, store 1/2 of them in a covered jar, and make the chili with the rest. The spice mix stays on-hand when I'm in a hurry. Rub it together with a T of oil into some chicken thighs and grill for a quick, DeLicious dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Quite nice but nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I have recently become obsessed with Chef John's recipes, videos, and reviews. My husband made this chili on Friday night and did not change anything. The flavor and consistency were excellent. Last night I took the left overs and made a pasta bake with 8 oz Campanella pasta and shredded Vermont white cheddar in an 8x8 pan covered @ 350 for 30 min and uncovered for another 15 min. The chili had such wonderful intense flavor that I did not need to add anymore spice. This is very spicy and not for kids as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Very good!! It was very spicey though, I lef out one of the peppers it called for just cause I didn't have it and used only a tablespoon chili powder. Nice flavor though and if you like it spicey use the recommended measurements. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Chef John this is the most flavorful WONDERFUL chili I have ever made! Absolutely 100% GREAT! What a terrific EASY recipe and better for you than using fatty ground beef. Highly recommended and will most definitely put it on our regular menu. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Giving this 4 stars only because it was too spicy for me. It was good, and I should add we ate it the next day loaded with cheese, sour cream and guacamole and ate it as nachos. We liked the nachos as all the condiments and chips cooled down the spice. It's very thick and does has a really good flavor. But like I said (for me) way too spicy. So if you like it hot you will love this chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
OUTSTANDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Really nice flavor. I am somewhat of a wimp when it comes to spices, so I cut the ancho powder, chipotle powder and cayenne in half, but left the other spices as is. It was at maximum warmth for me, but had enough fire to keep El Hothead happy. Also had to add a cup more of water than called for. Chili goes really well with hard cider or beer! Or is the other way 'round? Well done, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Boneless Whole Turkey

Watch Chef John bone, stuff, roll, and tie up a turkey.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States