Chef John's Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
This is my base go to chili recipe. I do adjust the heat as I cannot handle very spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Cooking for 2 small children so made a few changes - scant amount of cayenne and also did not have/use the dried chipotle. I also only had 1.5 pounds of turkey so I made adjustments accordingly. Used 3 cans of kidney beans because it's what I had. Used 1 28 oz can of diced tomatoes and 1 small can of tomato paste (A MUST). Also added a chopped green pepper and a cup or two of carrots I chopped VERY finely in the food processor - a great way to get more veggies in and no one would ever see them. Did not like it so thick so added water to my liking. Thanks Chef John! Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
The only reason I didn't give it a 5 (thought it was delicious) was even with taking the other reviewer's advice and cutting all 3 hot spices in 1/2, it was still a bit too spicy (and I can handle spicy!). If making again, I'd cut the ancho chili powder to 1 tablespoon (1/4 cup = 3 tbsp.'s), and still cut the other 2 by 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Excellent, very tasty I used ground Elk and Elk round steak cut in small cubes. The meat and flavor melted in your mouth. I added one can diced tomatoes and various types of canned beans pinto, kidney beans, and chili beans. The first time I made it I felt it was a little too salty so I reduced the salt the next time. I will only make this recipe from now on its so flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rickdazam
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Very easy to make, this recipe packs a lot of flavor. I had to substitute some ingredients like the ancho chile powder (very hard to find in Colombia) an added others such as red and yellow bell peppers to have more veggies in the dish. Garnished with white cheddar and home made guacamole, my guests were more than happy to indulge in this hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
The video shows the 1st hour of cooking in step 3 to be in a covered pot but it does not state so in the recipe. The last 20 to 30 minutes, after adding in the beans, is done uncovered. As far as taste, I liked this quite a bit but found the finished flavor to be different than what you would expect and (for me) not quite as good as a basic chili. It may just be that I need to get used to the difference in spices. Anyway, the finished product had a nice (fairly mild) level of heat and the technique that's used cooked everything down to a good thick consistency. I will definitely follow this technique again in the future but not sure about the spice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
So good. This is a very forgiving recipe. I feel a little guilty rating it since I had to sub out the chipotle powder (I didn't have any and a big snow storm was limiting our options to travel to the store.) instead, I used smoked paprika - I know they have different tastes but it seemed to work. Will make it with the chipotle pepper powder next time, but even with the switch, this has to be one of the best chili recipes I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I made this exactly as per the recipe. I despise the flavor of cinnamon but used it anyway and I believe that it denigrated the recipe for me. The rest of my family loved this recipe thus Chef John still deserves 5 stars for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I have never rated a recipe on this site. (Haven't done alot at other sites either.) But, i really loved this chili. It was spicey, had a great body and flavor profile. Who knew turkey could rise to such hieghts. I am very grateful for your recipe chef John. I want to say thanks for all of your recipes. I have saved many of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
WOW. This chili blew me away. When my husband saw that there was cocoa and cinnamon in the seasoning he was skeptical, but he did not complain once he ate the first bite. The first time I made it, I added some slices of roasted green chilis (my hubby is from NM) and the second time I made it I added a can of diced tomatoes with jalapeños. Both pots of chili were FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Beef, Bean, and Beer Chili

Beer, unsweetened cocoa powder, and cinnamon add a depth of flavor to this chili.

Chef John's Boneless Whole Turkey

Watch Chef John bone, stuff, roll, and tie up a turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States