Chef John's Turkey Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This was a huge hit with my family because I didn't think my dad would care for the garam masala, surprise, he loved the spiciness. I on the other hand thought it was a little overpowering. I will definitely use this recipe for turkey burgers going forward, but will substitute the garam masala for other spices. The texture of the burgers were fabulous and we all loved the addition of ground almonds. At the last minute during assembly I found out we were out of mayo - so I had to throw something together - I used some of the low-fat Greek and put it in the food processor with fresh cilantro, basil, ginger, lemongrass and fresh lemon - OMG, it was DELICIOUS and complimented the burger perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelMarGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Del Mar, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
We didn't care for this recipe. The flavor of garam masala overpowered everything else. If you're going to try this one, I would suggest only 1/2 tsp. of the garam masala. We love Chef John's flour tortillas and Ham and Potato soup, but this one won't appear at our table again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
best turkey burger I have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Awesome burger! I didn't have any plain yogurt so just used some light sour cream. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This is one of our favorite recipes! We raved about it to family. We use 2 pounds of ground turkey but don't alter the other ingredients except to eliminate or greatly reduce the chilli paste as I don't like spicey. I love it! Good flavor this way. We adore the cilantro and ginger. It does take a while to prepare, and these seem to disappear very quickly. Next time I will double the batch to freeze some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Has a very good flavour to it. Good tasting turkey burger for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I thought these tasted pretty good. I scaled it to 3 servings because I had 1 1/4 lbs of turkey. I used a mini burger mold and got 8 burgers. I broiled them instead of grilling them. However, I think I would have preferred them grilled. It does not say, but I would not use the leanest turkey or white meat only as mine were a little dry. Also take note of Chef John's serving suggestions. They worked well with the burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I was expecting a wonderful burger, but it was just okay. Unfortunately, it had an almost minty taste because of the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
All I can say is OUTSTANDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
These burgers were wonderful! I was looking for a burger recipe that I could make for my non-red-meat-eating cousin and that had low sodium/cholesterol for me (I left much of the salt out). These were juicy, flavorful, wonderfully spiced - in fact, one of the guests who usually ate the regular beef hamburgers opted for my turkey burgers, instead! I made oven baked sweet potato fries w/ zesty dipping sauce on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States