Chef John's Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Duuuuuuuuude!!!! That's all I can say...well not really but it sums it all up. This is so simple but so good. I went to the "big city" today and actually found some San Marzano tomatoes and I snagged them up and knew exactly what I was going to make with them. It was just a matter of what pasta dish was going to grace the presence of this sauce. I chose Chef John's Penne with Vodka Sauce found on this site. Amazing! Both of them. I didn't change a thing. I mushed the tomatoes up in my hands like I knew what I was doing and even though my taste test of the sauce at 30 minutes was to die for, I gladly cooked it another hour because well thats what we honorary Italian's do. I felt authentic, it tasted authentic and I'm happy happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Absolutely wonderful. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This is one of my favorite recipes! Although, I live in a small town, and San Marzano tomatoes are not readily available. I just substituted regular canned tomatoes, and the sauce turned out completely fine. However, with that said, I managed to find a store that does sell San Marzano tomatoes, and it does make a big difference. My wife loves it every time I make this sauce. Thank you Chef John! Keep the awesome recipes coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Warren, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Fantastic, hands down the best sauce. Now a staple in this house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I used 2 anchovy fillets while sauteing (sweating) the onion and celery. This is such a good sauce - although I would probably cut back on the amount of oil next time. As for those who are against anchovies - don't be! You'd never know they were there and they dissolve into nothing but flavor - no fish chunks or anything. I loved this and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I cut the recipe in half for my family of four and this sauce was great tossed with some sausage and pasta. I omitted the anchovy paste and used a can of petite diced tomatoes...I was able to skip the step where you were supposed to hand-squash the tomatoes too. I also only simmered it for about 30 mins. It still came out great! This is a great recipe if you don't have a jar of sauce on hand or want something that tastes more like it came from a nice restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This is a great vegetarian sauce and the best meat sauce I've tried. An old Italian cook once said "you have to use your hands or it's no good". Maybe that's the secret but I think it's the anchovies and bit of sugar. I forgot the sugar once and it was a little flat and not as good. -- Coegee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This sauce has many uses. My wife doesn't like the anchovy paste, so I used beef soup base ("Better the Bullion") instead, before adding in my beef meatballs. She loved it. You could also use their chicken soup base if using chicken in your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lecanto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
A nice chunky tomato sauce. I think the 1/4 cup of oil is too much oil though. I couldn't get it to boil down to dry. Next time I will try 1/8 cup olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StrawberrySmoothie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Terrific base recipe, Chef. It is so easy to personalize that I keep a goodly amount in the freezer. You always share wonderful recipes and keep me busy in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States