Chef John's Tandoori Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Yummy! and Easy! What's not to like about those two combinations?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Very testy and tender chicken but top of that i got the tandoori masala recipe thanks for that Mr Tom , and if u have some other masala recipe like birayani , nihari , korma , karahi ghost , kabuli pullyo please share with us. Thank U
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aneela Sajid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I thought I would try this recipe because it looked nice and easy for a weeknight meal. This was good if you don't want to use too many ingredients/make your own masala blend, and if you don't want spiciness. The flavour is mild and not particularly complex, but still good. I marinated for probably 6 hours, and baked chicken quarters in the oven. Sprinkled chopped cilantro on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rob1964
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Just got into Indian cooking so I don't expect much of myself. I made a couple of slight mods: I added a little chili powder and cayenne pepper, not much just a pinch and I finished the dish off with a small side of: 4 tbsps of sambal, chopped scallions, lemon juice and honey Greek yoghurt, just to give it some extra ooomph!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
We just finished dinner and I couldn't wait to write our review. This recipe is EXCELLENT. What a change from ol' boring grilled chicken. This will definitely become a grilling favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kitman
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I cooked them in a oil-sprayed pan in the oven 335F for about an hr. I pour away the juice every 15mins so the chicken will look nicely baked and dried at the end. They taste good and easy to make. Oh, I marinated them for about 6 hours. Also, I oil spray the chicken surface lightly 10 mins before its out of the oven. Will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
We were hoping for something a little spicier or more intriguing. It was good but we were hoping for better. Bought the Tandoori masala powder from Amazon (I keep a wish list until I get enough for free shipping which helps). We did discover that plain yogurt in a marinade is just fine and we need not turn up our noses or our palates. So it was a good learning experience. Now if we can just find a really interesting use for the Tandoori Masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
It's all in the spice blend. I used Penzey's Spices tandoori mix with plain greek yogurt & key limes. http://www.penzeys.com/cgi-bin/penzeys/p-penzeyscurrytand.html?id=fyErmhgq Mix 1-2 TB. with 1 Cup plain yogurt and the juice of ½ lime or lemon. Pour over a cut-up skinless chicken, cover and place in the refrigerator for at least 4 hours, preferably overnight. Remove from marinade, bake 45 minutes uncovered at 325°, turning and basting every 15 minutes. If I cook this in my terra cotta CLAY roaster I bake it at 350 for 1 hour no basting. Moist & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
my family loved it, not to mention that spicy food not their favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Chicken Under a Brick

Discover Chef John's unique way to produce a gorgeous, juicy and flavorful bird.

Chef John's Chicken and Olives

Moist, tender seared chicken finishes in a savory olive sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States