Chef John's Tandoori Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rob1964
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Just got into Indian cooking so I don't expect much of myself. I made a couple of slight mods: I added a little chili powder and cayenne pepper, not much just a pinch and I finished the dish off with a small side of: 4 tbsps of sambal, chopped scallions, lemon juice and honey Greek yoghurt, just to give it some extra ooomph!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
We just finished dinner and I couldn't wait to write our review. This recipe is EXCELLENT. What a change from ol' boring grilled chicken. This will definitely become a grilling favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kitman
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I cooked them in a oil-sprayed pan in the oven 335F for about an hr. I pour away the juice every 15mins so the chicken will look nicely baked and dried at the end. They taste good and easy to make. Oh, I marinated them for about 6 hours. Also, I oil spray the chicken surface lightly 10 mins before its out of the oven. Will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
We were hoping for something a little spicier or more intriguing. It was good but we were hoping for better. Bought the Tandoori masala powder from Amazon (I keep a wish list until I get enough for free shipping which helps). We did discover that plain yogurt in a marinade is just fine and we need not turn up our noses or our palates. So it was a good learning experience. Now if we can just find a really interesting use for the Tandoori Masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
It's all in the spice blend. I used Penzey's Spices tandoori mix with plain greek yogurt & key limes. http://www.penzeys.com/cgi-bin/penzeys/p-penzeyscurrytand.html?id=fyErmhgq Mix 1-2 TB. with 1 Cup plain yogurt and the juice of ½ lime or lemon. Pour over a cut-up skinless chicken, cover and place in the refrigerator for at least 4 hours, preferably overnight. Remove from marinade, bake 45 minutes uncovered at 325°, turning and basting every 15 minutes. If I cook this in my terra cotta CLAY roaster I bake it at 350 for 1 hour no basting. Moist & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
my family loved it, not to mention that spicy food not their favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Loved this one! You can buy Tandoori power at My Spice Sage if you don't have an import store nearby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
if you, like me, can't buy the tandoori masala powder : 1 tsp Garlic (Lasun) Powder 1 tsp ground Ginger (Adrak) 1 tsp Cloves (Lavang) Powder 1/2 tsp grated Nutmeg (Jaiphal) 1 tsp Mace Powder (Javitri) 11/2 tblsp Cumin (Jeera) Powder 2 tblsp ground Corriander (Dhania) 1 tsp Fenugreek (Methi) Powder 1 tsp ground Cinnamon (Tuj/Dalchini) 1 tsp fresh ground Black Pepper (Kalimirchi) 1 tsp ground brown Cardamom (Elaichi) Seeds 2 tsp Red Food colouring mix together and store in an air tight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Love it, love it, love it!!! Just the right amount of flavoring without being over powering. I followed this recipe exactly although I did use vanilla yogurt. This recipe will certainly be used time and time again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Calabrian Chicken

The flavors of Calabria, Italy, inspired this grilled chicken recipe.

Chef John's Chicken and Olives

Moist, tender seared chicken finishes in a savory olive sauce.

Grilled Tandoori Chicken

Watch Chef John make easy tandoori-style chicken on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States