Chef John's Tandoori Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rob1964
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Just got into Indian cooking so I don't expect much of myself. I made a couple of slight mods: I added a little chili powder and cayenne pepper, not much just a pinch and I finished the dish off with a small side of: 4 tbsps of sambal, chopped scallions, lemon juice and honey Greek yoghurt, just to give it some extra ooomph!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
We just finished dinner and I couldn't wait to write our review. This recipe is EXCELLENT. What a change from ol' boring grilled chicken. This will definitely become a grilling favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kitman
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I cooked them in a oil-sprayed pan in the oven 335F for about an hr. I pour away the juice every 15mins so the chicken will look nicely baked and dried at the end. They taste good and easy to make. Oh, I marinated them for about 6 hours. Also, I oil spray the chicken surface lightly 10 mins before its out of the oven. Will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
We were hoping for something a little spicier or more intriguing. It was good but we were hoping for better. Bought the Tandoori masala powder from Amazon (I keep a wish list until I get enough for free shipping which helps). We did discover that plain yogurt in a marinade is just fine and we need not turn up our noses or our palates. So it was a good learning experience. Now if we can just find a really interesting use for the Tandoori Masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
It's all in the spice blend. I used Penzey's Spices tandoori mix with plain greek yogurt & key limes. http://www.penzeys.com/cgi-bin/penzeys/p-penzeyscurrytand.html?id=fyErmhgq Mix 1-2 TB. with 1 Cup plain yogurt and the juice of ½ lime or lemon. Pour over a cut-up skinless chicken, cover and place in the refrigerator for at least 4 hours, preferably overnight. Remove from marinade, bake 45 minutes uncovered at 325°, turning and basting every 15 minutes. If I cook this in my terra cotta CLAY roaster I bake it at 350 for 1 hour no basting. Moist & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
my family loved it, not to mention that spicy food not their favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Loved this one! You can buy Tandoori power at My Spice Sage if you don't have an import store nearby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
if you, like me, can't buy the tandoori masala powder : 1 tsp Garlic (Lasun) Powder 1 tsp ground Ginger (Adrak) 1 tsp Cloves (Lavang) Powder 1/2 tsp grated Nutmeg (Jaiphal) 1 tsp Mace Powder (Javitri) 11/2 tblsp Cumin (Jeera) Powder 2 tblsp ground Corriander (Dhania) 1 tsp Fenugreek (Methi) Powder 1 tsp ground Cinnamon (Tuj/Dalchini) 1 tsp fresh ground Black Pepper (Kalimirchi) 1 tsp ground brown Cardamom (Elaichi) Seeds 2 tsp Red Food colouring mix together and store in an air tight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Love it, love it, love it!!! Just the right amount of flavoring without being over powering. I followed this recipe exactly although I did use vanilla yogurt. This recipe will certainly be used time and time again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Calabrian Chicken

The flavors of Calabria, Italy, inspired this grilled chicken recipe.

Grilled Tandoori Chicken

Watch Chef John make easy tandoori-style chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Chicken and Olives

Moist, tender seared chicken finishes in a savory olive sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States