Chef John's Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This review is for the gravy part of this recipe only (although I'm sure the meatballs are fabulous too; after all, this is a Chef John recipe). I made Johnsonville Italian Meatballs and, as an afterthought, decided I wanted a Swedish meatball dish. So I began looking and decided to make this sauce. It is a little bit thinner than what I've had before, but that didn't bother me at all. I didn't add any extra salt or pepper since my meatballs used hot Italian sausage. I served the meatballs and gravy over angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Made this recipe tonight and followed it exactly as written. My family LOVED these meatballs,and trust me,they are hard to please..especially my picky kids.The meatballs were amazing, perfectly seasoned.The sauce was wonderful, very delicate flavor,and since there was so much of it I served it over noodles. As I wasn't sure how it would turn out,I made the meatballs and sauce a couple of hours before dinnertime and kept it warm in a crockpot. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Excellent recipe! Make this for my husband at least once every 3 weeks. Didn't change a thing in the recipe. Thank you Chef john!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Perfect! I will definitely make this again. I made no changes to the recipe and the whole family devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Tasty and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Yummmmm This recipe changed my hubbys view of Swedish Meatballs. He was not a fan from past experience but we both loved your recipe. I had to do some substitutions because I didnt have all of the ingredients. I didn't have beef broth so I used 4 beef boulion cubes. I didn't have All Spice so I used Apple Pie Spice (which is nutmeg, cinnamon and all spice). I had to cut back a smidge on the Nutmeg ingredient because of this. I Also added more cayenne, I doubled the cayenne because I love my pepper. By doing this it added some heat to the sweet. I didn't have plain breadcrumbs (surprisingly) but I did have have seasoned Panko breadcrumbs so I used those. I also used ground turkey instead of the main meat ingredients. I dont usually like to substitute until after I tried the recipe for the first time on its own, but aside from the meat and double cayenne I don't think my alterations would have made a major difference in the flavor. Thank You Very Much this is a great recipe, gonna try your Fried Chicken today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I thought this dinner was delicious.. It was awesome.. Even received a compliment from the other that ate it with.. That was a surprise.. they were yummy! thank you.. for such great recipe and great dinner..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbiedoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Ladonia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
These are simply delicious. Easy to make. If you want the gravy thicker simply simmer once the meatballs are incorporated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
these were awesome, better than ikea's even :) remember, to avoid tough meatballs, don't overmix and try to use a melon baller to shape the balls, as the heat from your hands will tend to break them down a bit. the only thing i changed with this recipe is that i used an 8oz container of fresh mushrooms, which were browned in butter before adding to this delicious gravy. i also added a smidge of allspice. delicious! our store doesn't carry lingonberries so i made some homemade cranberry sauce using the teeny cranberries, with a bit of tangerine zest. very nice substitute using commonly found ingredients. used homemade creme fraiche for this recipe, and served over egg noodles from trader joe's. bork bork!! this is my husbands all time favorite dinner, i made it for his birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I made this recipe as stated. I live with a Swedish-Finn, and he though the recipe outstanding. I made this with salad and steamed potatoes one night, and rice and steamed green beans the next; I served homemade lingonberry preserves with both. This was a great recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States