Chef John's Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Stella Reynoso
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
The aroma of these as I was mixing them were wonderful, and the flavor was great too. However, there are a few key ingredients left out of the original recipe post, so this is how I made my gravy: 2 T butter 1/4 cup flour 1.5 cups beef stock 1/2 cup cream 1/2 teaspoon sugar 1 teaspoon Worchestershire sauce 1/2 teaspoon salt 1/4 teaspoon pepper The recipe doesn't say how many meatballs this made. Making 2-3 tablespoon-sized meatballs gave me about 34 pretty big meatballs (like, spaghetti-and-meatball size versus IKEA meatball size), which needed to cook longer than the 20 minutes allotted. Mine ended up cooking for 40 minutes, and were slightly tough on the outside, and the temp only got to 150 inside with my thermometer, but they were definitely done. I think next time I will cook for a little longer at a lower temp to not have the outside so overdone. Also, the recipe called for making the gravy before making the meatballs, but I would definitely make the gravy AFTER they are cooked since it really doesn't take more than a few minutes to whisk up. The amount of gravy made with my measurements there only really coated about half the recipe (the hubby is a gravy fanatic, plus we wanted some for the potatoes too), so I'd at least double it next time since it's very thick, and doesn't stretch far. Because I was waiting so long for the meatballs to cook, the gravy got super thick, but a little splash of beef stock helped loosen it as I warmed it back up on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella Reynoso

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I want to try these meatballs, however in the instructions, #5 states to whisk in Worcestershire sauce. I don't see that in the ingredient list. How much do you use?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I just viewed Chef John's video for the Swedish Meatballs. This dish has always been one of my favorites and I have been looking for a recipe which tastes great. This one is the recipe I've been looking for. BTW, the video was most instructive and his delivery was very entertaining. I found your sense of humor to be very much like my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michder 61
Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
As a Norwegian cook who also cooks Swedish, I can assure you that authentic Swedish meatballs do NOT have either cayenne pepper or Worcestershire sauce in them---only regular black pepper, to taste. Otherwise, exactly the right recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This is absolutely amazing!!! I just got done making, and the meatballs are the best I've ever made! The flavor of just the meatballs alone are outstanding! I did double the gravy and added 2 beef bouillon cubes for more flavor, but beyond that, I didn't change a thing! AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I've kinda winged Swedish meatballs for a while now, but this recipe really refined what I was doing. Totally awesome. I changed things ever so slightly - mixed the breadcrumbs with the milk ahead of time because that worked so well in the Italian meatballs. And I did not start the sauce until the meatballs were in the oven - in fact, sauce and meatballs finished at just the same time. Not buying frozen meatballs ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BURGUNDY2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Very good! I used ground chicken for the meat (because that is what I had on hand) and added extra breadcrumbs to make up for the extra moisture in ground chicken. Loved the meatball seasoning. Gravy was very good, used lowfat condensed milk in place of cream and for extra deep flavor in the gravy, I added about a 1/2 tsp. instant coffee. I know it sounds weird, but this is an ingredient I have always put in Swedish meatballs to deepen the flavor. I served them over spatzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I thought this recipe was really good, although I share the opinion of another reviewer which is to make & cook the meatballs first. I was in a rush so this made the cooking time faster, and took a couple extra shortcuts. I did not saute the onions-I just minced them, and did not chill the meatballs either, I just rolled them & tossed them right in the oven. (came out fine!) I started the gravy (I also added a bit of nutmeg to the sauce)after the meatballs were in the oven for about 10 minutes so both were hot & ready at the same time. I should add that I only made enough meatballs for 3 but kept the gravy amount as written so we would have plenty for the egg noodles we topped this dish with. We loved the flavor, and these will replace the recipe I've used in the past!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Tasty and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
LOVED the GRAVY! This is only a partial review, since I used commercial, frozen meatballs but used Chef John's amazing gravy. It was one of those nights where I needed an easy meal in a hurry! I served this dish with small, boiled potatoes as suggested and threw together a side salad. The gravy was both delicious and easy to make. The only thing I changed was that I added 1/2 tsp. nutmeg and about 1 tsp. of dried parsley. One small hint: Be sure that your frying pan isn't blazing hot when you add the bouillon to the flour mixture or you'll get lumps in the gravy. This is a great recipe. You'll never have to go to IKEA for lunch again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States