Chef John's Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
The meatballs were a bit bland. Next Time I will probably double the spices. The gravy was fantastic though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
These were so yummy! The only thing I did differently was that I did not refrigerate the meat. I didn't have enough time for that step, but my meatballs still kept their shape and were easy enough to form. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I served these for a church supper. I made 4 times the amount and the were gone very quickly! Putting foil on the pan like the video suggests was very helpful for clean up. I think I will add mushrooms next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chanhassen, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe. The only thing I did different was to add 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder, 1/2 teaspoon onion powder, a dash of hot sauce, and an extra 1/4 teaspoon of worcestershire to the gravy. I served it over mashed potatoes, and it was absolutely delicious! A true comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Love this recipe! Just like my mothers and my kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
They were awesome. Next time I will double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
If you like the banquet Swedish meatballs, you're going to love these. Followed the recipe very closely, except I used panko in place of breadcrumbs. I didn't have milk (or much time) so I omitted it and skipped the 1-hour refrigeration. I imagine that soaking the breadcrumbs would only improve the flavor. I absolutely recommend this! can't wait to have it for dinner again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nyequita Destiny Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I'm Norwegian, and these are just like I remember eating as a kid. The gravy was perfect, although I must admit I used half and half instead of heavy cream, and had to thicken the gravy a bit with Wondra. But that's not a complaint; I substituted according to what I had on hand. I may increase the seasonings just a tad next time. This will be my go-to recipe for Norwegian (oops - Swedish)meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Bice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reedley, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I really didn't like the sweetness of the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Pretty tasty. Very hearty. Obviously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States