Chef John's Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This was bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I made this and at first I was skeptical because of the nutmeg and allspice but I decided to try it anyway. I've made swedish meatballs using the package ingredients a few times it was ok but not great. I made the sauce with beef concentrate broth and used milk, no cream on hand, I figured this would compensate for no cream. It did. I also had put in mushrooms because I needed to use them up. This was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I made this with ground chicken as this is what I had on hand. I also used sour cream instead of heavy cream; again this is what I had on hand. We loved it! I did find it a little salty and next time I will used sodium reduced broth. I agree with others about timing of the gravy, next time I will make when meatballs are baking. Easy and delicious recipe! Served with a mixture of mashed potato, sweet potato and cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
The sauce tastes wonderful, but I made up a buerre marne[soft butter and flour] to thicken the sauce a little. Sauce was still runny, and I used less broth than called for. I added a little more nutmeg and allspice to the gravy for more flavor. I might make again, but I'll be on the look out for other recipes. I also added some of the drippings from the cookie sheet that the meatballs were baking on for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Bakaitis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
LOVED this! The meatballs were tender and juicy. The sauce was almost spot on with the package recipe. Husband loved this and wants it again! Served with white rice - perfect dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Sakai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Really enjoyed these! Very tasty and easy! Served with buttered noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
These were very good. I made 1/2 the recipe for me and my husband and still had enough to freeze for another meal. Served with garlic dill new potatoes from this site as didn't want just plain boiled potatoes with it. Delicious. Will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Howell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I made the gravy from this recipe and it was FANTASTIC! I took the suggestions to double it and followed Stella's suggestion to reduce the amount of beef broth. I didn't add the sugar and didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I thought the pork added flavor but lots of fat. A lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
My whole family LOVED this recipe. It will definitely be on the menu again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States