Chef John's Stuffed Summer Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I also used Italian sausage in this and it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laurenelizabeth
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Delicious and couldn't be easier. I used hot pork sausage, the kind that comes in the thick tubes, and garlic and herb bread crumbs. The red peppers add the most delightful kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
It's CSA time and I was looking for something interesting to do with too much summer squash. This was delicious! I couldn't find the spicy lamb sausage, so I improvised: I used ground lamb and spiced it with minced onion and garlic, cumin, paprika, and cayenne as well as salt and black pepper. This seemed easier than removing the casing from an already prepared sausage anyway. I considered skipping the cheese to cut down on the richness, but decided to use feta instead of the goat cheese. It really added an interesting dimension, so I am glad I didn't leave it out. Because I didn't have the small round squash pictured, I used a larger elongated "mediterranean" squash, and it took longer to bake. More like 40 minutes. Both my husband and I gave it 5 stars. I will definitely use this recipe again. Also, I felt badly about tossing the scooped out squash so I sauteed some onion and garlic along with the chopped up squash, added a half a seeded fresh tomato and stir fried the mixture with some cooked brown rice. It made the perfect side dish to accompany this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I also had a hard time finding the lamb sausage (San Antonio is dominated by one grocery chain and few finer food stores, sadly) so I used spicy Italian sausage with no other modifications. Amazing results! The video on this was very helpful, and I didn't expect goat cheese to pair so well with squash flavors/textures. As soon as I can get my hands on some merguez, I will definitely re-review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I made this today use a lenguisa sausage, and a creamy goat cheese. It's delicious. Very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I could not find merguez and didn't have time to make my own so I used hot italian sausage instead and this turned out incredible. I used zucchini from the garden because, well zucchini plants are ridiculously prodigious. I used 3 ounces of goat cheese because 2 was not enough and used panko on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
My husband doesn't eat red meat so I used mild Italian chicken sausage and it was still amazing. My whole family loved the blend of all of the flavors. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Delicious and easy. I couldn't find the merguez either so I used breakfast sausage and it was really yummy. I added some crushed red pepper for spice and used panko instead of regular bread crumbs. I used two small yellow squash and the timing was right on. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I loved the goat cheese in this recipe. I didn't have sausage so I used ground beef and seasoned to my preference. I know, I really should try it with Merguez sausage. A great use of summer squash especially if it grew a little too large for other uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Delicious! I made it with both yellow squash and zucchini. It was great with both. Goat cheese and sausage and red pepper was great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Chef John’s Root Vegetable Gratin

See how to make a simple cheesy gratin with root vegetables and potatoes.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States