Chef John's Stuffed Summer Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
YUM! I tried this with yellow squash (used two squash, scaled the recipe for 7 servings). Also used a blackberry jalapeno goat cheese and some kielbasa--diced finely--that I got from the farmers market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anglophile612

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Delicious! I made it with both yellow squash and zucchini. It was great with both. Goat cheese and sausage and red pepper was great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I loved the goat cheese in this recipe. I didn't have sausage so I used ground beef and seasoned to my preference. I know, I really should try it with Merguez sausage. A great use of summer squash especially if it grew a little too large for other uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I also used Italian sausage in this and it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Delicious and easy. I couldn't find the merguez either so I used breakfast sausage and it was really yummy. I added some crushed red pepper for spice and used panko instead of regular bread crumbs. I used two small yellow squash and the timing was right on. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I could have brought the Merguez sausage online but found the recipe online so started from fresh - lamb mince and spices. In the UK the supermarkets (I go to) only do butternut squashes so that's what I used. I mircowaved the squashes for five mins to make them cutable and then put them in the oven for half hour so I could scope them out. I lost the first one for being too vigorous in my scrapping but the other three were fine. I used 500g lamb mince and 70g goats cheese but I suspect I probably needed more cheese for that amount of lamb. Very tasty for a treat. Made fried rice and squash to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
You can't get much easier for such great gourmet taste. I prepared exactly as directed and it was absolutely delicious. Light for summer yet hearty with the bit of sausage. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
If you're using yellow summer squash like in the picture, you'll need to make the following adjustments. I cooked three medium yellow squash, and I needed twice the amount of filling the original recipe calls for. Also, the squash needed to bake for about an hour. I put foil over it for second half of the baking time so the filling wouldn't burn. Like other reviewers, I used hot italian sausage. I also brushed olive oil over the squash and seasoned liberally with salt and pepper before adding the filling. Then I put a few pats of butter over the top of the bread crumbs. It came out very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
The recipe came out great - I couldn't find the type of sausage referred to in the recipe, so I used just a sweet Italian. I think it would be even better with the Merguez, but it was pretty good as is. The video was EXTREMELY helpful as well when it came to preparing the squash - thanks!!! Edited to add: It was MUCH better reheated the second day - the flavors melded better. Also, I doubled the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Used beer bruats because I couldn't find the other squash. Only used 3 squash. Surprisingly good for the adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Chef John’s Root Vegetable Gratin

See how to make a simple cheesy gratin with root vegetables and potatoes.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States