Chef John's Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Best stuffed peppers I've ever had. I followed the recipe almost exactly - I didn't have beef broth so I just used water and it was still delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Although I've been using allrecipes for over 10 years, I've never found a recipe that I've enjoyed so much that I would join just to rate it, until now! I am 50 plus years old and have been addicted to stuffed cabbage and peppers for most of my life. I have tried hundreds of different recipes. NONE have even come close to this one! My search for the perfect stuffed cabbage or pepper is over! I will never use another recipe. I'm actually getting ready at this very moment to use the filling minus the rice to make homemade ravioli. Thank You Chef John for such a PHENOMINAL RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
We made a double recipe of this, using 8 bell peppers (16 halves). The servings are very generous. I followed the recipe pretty well though I did use less of the cheese as I didn't feel like opening another bag. It got rave reviews from everyone. I loved it, my husband loved it, and the kids loved it. The green peppers and bright red sauce make for pretty contrast, and the savory flavor is wonderful. We had quite a lot left over and the leftovers taste just as good. I would highly recommend making a huge batch, and freezing some. It's cheaper and tastes better than the boxed frozen stuffed peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I made half of the filling mixture for this recipe and it was plenty for three smallish green peppers (6 halves). I prepared these early in the day, covered and refrigerated them. I omitted the pork sausage and used fresh tomatoes. The recipe is confusing because it instructs you to stir the rice and parmesan into the meat mixture. Then later instructs you to sprinkle the remaining parmesan (what remaining parmesan?) over the top. So not knowing how much to put where, I just winged it and used 2 T. in the meat mixture and sprinkled more on top after baking. I baked these covered for 45 minutes and uncovered for 15 more minutes and my peppers were still crisp tender. I wouldn’t have wanted to bake them any longer. This was good and the hint of balsamic vinegar was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Probably the best peppers I have EVER eaten! They were fantastic! I did change it up just a bit because of what I had on hand. I had a 2 pound package of 93% fat free ground beef, so I skipped the sausage. To mock a spicy sausage flavor, I added some fennel seed, pepper flakes and ground sage to the meat. I used brown rice instead of white rice. For the diced tomatoes I used rotel style tomatoes and drained them. I didn't have any parmesan cheese so what was I going to do? Light bulb moment... those pizza parmesan packets they give you when you order pizza! I have a ton of them so I added about 12 packets of that to the meat. I didn't add the cheese on top until the last 20 minutes and I ended up using mozzarella on top. Served it with some whole grain spaghetti that was tossed with onion, garlic and pepper. TOTALLY delish! I am SO full and I am fighting the urge to go munch on more... the sauce was great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
These are truly the best stuffed peppers I have ever eaten! I made them twice in one week because we couldn't get enough of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcompton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I thought this recipe was great. My family was only so-so about it but they don't care for stuffed peppers at all. The only complaint I have about the recipe is that made as is, you have way too much filling or not enough peppers. I used 4 very large bell peppers and still had a ton of filling left over. I even over over stuffed mine and had extra. I could have easily stuffed 3-4 more peppers with the filling. I just cooked the extra filling along with the peppers in the sauce. Thank you for a very flavorful new spin on the old stuffed pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wifey1013
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Sooo delicious!!! I had to use mild Italian sausage since my local supermarket was out of hot (GASP). Definitely making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
These are delicious! The best stuffed peppers I've ever tasted and that's saying a lot. The sauce is really good and I don't normally like tomato sauces. You must try these. I didn't have the sausage on hand so I used all ground beef, but followed the recipe exactly. I'll be making these a lot from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMIK124

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I use this recipe to stuff TONS of peppers and save them in the freezer, during harvest season. They are absolutely wonderful and I can't wait til a cold winter day when I don't wanna cook. The only thing I changed was a little more sausage! Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States