Chef John's Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
The technique and texture for this recipe was WOW perfect. The seasoning for me was off. It as a mix of tex mex and Italian. Next time I will make it without the cayenne and use a mozzarella/ provolone mix on top. Might even try it with sweet Italian sausage! Don't not make this just think about preferred seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
The recipe is great! I only gave it 4 stars because I don't particularly care for bell peppers but my family gave it a 5. It was filling and the stuffing makes very generous helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Perfection! I make my own tomato sauce (bypassing the beef broth part of the recipe here) in the blender with fresh tomatoes, apple cider vinegar, oregano, basil, red pepper, onion and garlic and then just pour that all over the stuffed peppers. Brown the sausage a bit before putting it in the stuffing, this makes the flavors pop (I use hot sausage). I also use plenty of shredded Italian cheese to top the peppers, but I don't put that on until the last 10 minutes. Great as leftovers or frozen. Love this recipe so much; I have probably made it at least 10 times :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyK811

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Delicious!! Can't wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Delicious! I gave this a vegetarian twist and subbed veggie ground round and veggie chorizo sausage for the meat in this recipe. I reduced the baking time by 15 mins (since veggie meat doesn't need to be cooked) and it came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I used wild rice with these and canned vodka sauce drizzled over the top - baked at 405 so that it wouldn't take quite as long, and they turned out great! I loved how the wild rice gave the stuffing a little texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I'm a huge fan of stuffed bell peppers and this recipe was quick to put together and super yummy. My husband was very happy to have them prepared the "granny's way" (his words) instead of submerged and stewed the way I usually prepare them. I prepared as written except I subbed red wine vinaigrette because I didn't have the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWENMBELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I keep making these and they are great every time. The only add-on I do is sometimes put a thin slice of swiss on top so that the kids like it better, but it really is perfect without the added cheese. One note - do not ramp up the feta. I thought it would be good with a little more one time and it just over-took the dish. Stick to the recipe and you're good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
WOW! I am not normally a fan of stuffed peppers but these were AMAZING! We made these because my husband loves stuffed peppers and I thought these sounded like a recipe I could enjoy, too. My husband made them and followed the recipe exactly (we used pecorino romano which does make a difference), and even as a novice cook he found the recipe very easy to follow. He felt like a gourmet chef after following your recipe and listening to me rave about how delicious it was. Thanks, definitely making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Made according to exact directions and everyone loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States