Chef John's Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
It was not good. My kids hated it, and it took them forever to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starrika

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I made this tonight for my family and all I can say is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!! I followed the recipe to the letter and they turned out awesome. The marinara sauce is a must. I served these on a bed of rice, drizzled sauce on rice and placed peppers on top. This combination of flavors sent our taste buds into over drive. Thank you for a world class reciepe, and this will be in the family forever. I rate this at 10 stars. Thanks chef John. Michael
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This came out perfectlly! Definitely will make this once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Son E Mel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Liked it. A little spicy, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
The time it took and multiple steps before even stuffing the peppers was way too long, a lot of work and the clean up with all the bowls, chopping boards, pots and pans was no party either. I was worried about the Cayenne and Pepper Flakes because of the kids so I went VERY easy on them. When they were done and I tasted a bite, I immediately had a rush of the heat in them. I would never serve to kids. I don't think you need either or the name needs to be changed to something like hot and spicy. If you are good at something you know just stick with it and don't try and get fancy. I learned my lesson and will make my usual next time. For me, nothing special about the taste of this recipe (other than the heat). Save your time and $$$ and stick to your own or one that is much more simple. Thank you for sharing and I'm sorry for being a downer but I read reviews and go by them as I'm sure others do as well. I just wanted to be honest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Wow, I love this recipe! The best peppers I've ever eaten and certainly the best I've ever made. My husband was so disappointed there weren't more. I followed the recipe exactly. Next time I will double!! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Amazing!!!! Taste was perfect. The only thing I changed was that I did not halve my peppers. I like them tranditionally fully stuffed like a bowl! I also added some more spices... It was originally a bit bland for my taste but maybe thats just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsie Gossett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Outstanding ! The best stuffed pepper meal I have ever had. I did change the recipe with one item. We used a half pound of ground beef and a half pound of ground venison and it produced less fat because of the lean venison and a very flavorful filling with out any gaminess traces. Instead of mixing the filling mixture by hand we used or Kitchen-aid mixer with the mixing paddle attachment to get a thoroughly blended filling. I expect the ones we froze will taste just as good as the just out of the oven ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Raidt
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Fantastic stuffed peppers. I was looking for a good recipe for these as the couple I tried out fell short. I got some lovely large green bells and the stuffing mixture and sauce was just perfect. Didn't change a thing. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I used brown rice in the filling and cut the parmesan cheese in half. In the sauce, I cut the beef broth by a quarter cup and added a quarter cup of burgundy. I just happened to accidently forget both the balsamic and the cayenne. I did throw in a few spices to the sauce (Italian seasoning, basil, oregano and a little brown sugar). Before I baked them, I sprinkled shredded sharp cheddar on top. These are the best stuffed peppers we've ever had. One of the previous reviewer's hit the nail on the head that the sauce is what makes this dish. That and the parmesan in the filling. We all loved this recipe, even my picky youngest child. THIS IS AMAZING. Totally making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States