Chef John's Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I lost my old recipe my mother used from an Old Betty Crocker cookbook. I decided to try this, I'm so glad I did. I didn't use the pork sausage because my husband doesn't care for it and I used Colby Jack cheese because that's what I had. It's so delicious. The best stuffed peppers I've ever eaten. I'm eating leftovers for lunch now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellie Ellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I just found this recipe 2 days ago, made no changes, and hubby loved them as did I. Served with mashed potatoes and Chef John's gravy that has cognac in it. WOW!!! My hubby is still raving about both. A side salad topped off the dinner. I followed his video...very helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Absolutely the best flavors ever! I've been making and eating stuffed peppers for 50+ years and Chef John gets my thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
These are excellent, the basalmic adds a taste that is unlike anything else! I doctored up my tomato sauce with mushrooms and used Quinoa instead of rice. I used Venison and these were the best stuffed peppers I've ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is the ONLY stuffed pepper recipe I use...it is spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I followed the recipe with no alterations and it came out delicious! My boys, 8 & 12, asked for a second half which is remarkable. The combination of flavors are well balanced and the little extra cheese on top really launches your taste buds into overdrive. A simple dish done right, will be making this again soon. Just make sure your pan is deep enough as I almost had some spill over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palos Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Tried it for the first time and was a huge hit with my family and especially my boyfriend who is picky. Will def make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia Santacruz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by asimplemommy
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I've made the earlier version of Chef John's Stuffed Peppers and prefer that recipe to this one. My family and I just didn't care for it. The texture is great, but the whole thing just didn't seem to go well together. The initial red sauce was wonderful, the peppers just the right doneness, the interior a bit bland, but the flavors seemed at war with each other in mouth. I will admit I didn't have the hot Italian sausage, maybe that's the lynch pin to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This is the 3rd time using this recipe the only thing I changed was an addition of a tablespoon of Worchester Sauce. This is now our favorite recipe for stuffed peppers. Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Delicious. Made it with no changes, other than salt added to sauce. Very good! I made extra sauce and poured that over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States