Chef John's Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Loved it! Omitted rice and substituted the cheese with American cheese since my husband is picky. Otherwise I followed everything else exactly the same. Bomb diggity!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Love this recipe! Actually all of Chef John's recipes that I've tried I love. The only thing I do differently is omit the sausage & add 1 tsp of fennel & 1/2 tsp of sage (recommended by another review) & use organic ground turkey. Oh, & I use organic chicken broth instead of beef. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This is more satisfying than any stuffed pepper I have ever made. I used brown rice instead of white and it was absolutely delicious. In the future, I will cut salt amount in half. My husband and I do not like a heavy salt flavor. I will also try this filling in stuffed cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Very good! This recipe is a bit time consuming but worth the effort and the wait. For the amateurs, make sure you wash, cut, chop and gather all of your ingredients before you begin. It will make things go much smoother. I'm not usually a fan of changing recipes on the first try but this one seemed easy enough to adjust. I doubled the recipe so I could freeze some for another time. I used the leftover beef broth in place of some of the water to cook the rice. We're trying to eat healthier so I used brown rice instead of white and turkey in place of the beef. Even with the adjustments, this was a super delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
delicious! I did cook the meat before and they only took about 30 mins in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
So very tasty!!!! Added a bit of red wine to the red sauce :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Lambert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I really like these stuffed peppers but they take a long time to prep and cook so be sure you leave yourself over two hours. I found receipe needed more diced tomatoes, I used double the amount, try with seasoned crushed tomatoes very popular in grocery now. Use sweet sausage if you don't like the heat. I usually cut top off of pepper instead of halfing to give a bigger serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Monroe, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
My initial review is "just ok" but I need to try again to make sure. I prepared these as directed, but I froze them right after baking to use as lunches, so I didn't eat any fresh. When thawed, they were fine but bland and needed lots of salt and spaghetti sauce to give flavor. I have to try again to see of this was due to the freezing or the recipe. I do know that there wasn't enough sauce or cheese for my preference, so I will double the tomato sauce and add some extra cheese to the topping, probably mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Made it exactly as described. Not my first attempt at stuffed peppers, by any means, but one of the more involved recipes, and a long cooking time. Liked the ratio of meat to rice, and the texture of the stuffing, but 3 sources of hot spice (cayenne, red pepper flakes and hot Italian sausage a little too much for the green peppers, and the flavor of them. Might try this one more time with sweet Italian sausage and see what happens...or just maybe move on to another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States