Chef John's Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I made this the other night and it was a winner for sure! I made a few changes along the way- i used pork chipolatas and I made my own marinara sauce also I used a few red peppers along with green because my partner does not like green ones. The sauce needs to be doubled it is so amazing! (my housemates dipped their bread in the remaining sauce that was leftover in the pan haha) I used 7 average sized peppers and the sauce was stretched a little further than I would want. I also did not have aluminum foil so I made the first batch uncovered and I actually preferred them like this because the cheese became a little golden brown and added some nice texture. The second time we made them as directed and certainly preferred the cheese a little more cooked. all in all great recipe I will make again with DOUBLE sauce next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I used this recipe to stuff yellow and orange peppers, I didn't have any green peppers on hand. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef and skipped the pork sausage completely. The filling mixture was very generous, I was able to stuff two small peppers with plenty stuffing left over. I took the suggestion of another reviewer, Tastebuddy, and used the leftover stuffing to stuff cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I'm giving this recipe a 5 star rating, but, I think I need to make a couple of changes. We found the filling and sauce to be excellent. My store did not have the hot Italian sausage, nor the fresh Italian parsley available. I bought mild Italian sausage. We both thought the recipe was zingy enough. I substituted dried parsley, instead. Also, we thought the peppers were not cooked quite enough. Next time I will parboil them. All in all, a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puddymom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Made this last night and followed the recipe to the T. My husband, 12 month old, and I loved it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Best stuffed peppers I have ever made!!! My husband couldn't get enough of them. Instead of just using the green bell peppers, I used one of every color to try the difference in taste. I liked the orange one best my husband liked the red best. All were fantastic though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Xavier
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Excellent recipe. I used turkey meat instead of beef, and it still turned out great. If you want to season more, do so. It's worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by madiwal
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Simple to make and delicious!!!! I'm not a fan of Italian sausage so I substituted smoked sausage and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Loved these! Yes, they're labor intensive and take up a lot of dishes but I absolutely love this recipe. I use ground chicken or ground turkey when I make them to cut down the calories, and I think that allows the spiciness from the hot sausage to shine as well as the cayenne and crushed red pepper flakes. I've made these for both my family and friends and everyone left happy and full. I recently made them for my "chicken-a-tarian" friend and even without the sausage she loved them, so there are a lot of alternatives you could use while making these to increase/decrease the heat and to make them healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I just made these tonight i am normally not a fan of stuffed peppers I made them exactly as written and they were great! The next time i might just put under the broiler at the end to get a char on them but other then that great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I'd love to review the recipe, but as usual with so many recipes on this site, the cooking time was drastically off, and the peppers came out of the oven after 45 minutes with completely red, raw meat inside. So they're currently back in the oven for who knows how long until the filling is actually cooked...while my family patiently waits to eat. Do people ever actually test these recipes for accuracy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States