Chef John's Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Amazing!!!! Taste was perfect. The only thing I changed was that I did not halve my peppers. I like them tranditionally fully stuffed like a bowl! I also added some more spices... It was originally a bit bland for my taste but maybe thats just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsie Gossett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Outstanding ! The best stuffed pepper meal I have ever had. I did change the recipe with one item. We used a half pound of ground beef and a half pound of ground venison and it produced less fat because of the lean venison and a very flavorful filling with out any gaminess traces. Instead of mixing the filling mixture by hand we used or Kitchen-aid mixer with the mixing paddle attachment to get a thoroughly blended filling. I expect the ones we froze will taste just as good as the just out of the oven ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Raidt
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Fantastic stuffed peppers. I was looking for a good recipe for these as the couple I tried out fell short. I got some lovely large green bells and the stuffing mixture and sauce was just perfect. Didn't change a thing. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I used brown rice in the filling and cut the parmesan cheese in half. In the sauce, I cut the beef broth by a quarter cup and added a quarter cup of burgundy. I just happened to accidently forget both the balsamic and the cayenne. I did throw in a few spices to the sauce (Italian seasoning, basil, oregano and a little brown sugar). Before I baked them, I sprinkled shredded sharp cheddar on top. These are the best stuffed peppers we've ever had. One of the previous reviewer's hit the nail on the head that the sauce is what makes this dish. That and the parmesan in the filling. We all loved this recipe, even my picky youngest child. THIS IS AMAZING. Totally making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This recipe was very easy to make, although I did not have the sausage, I imagine it would bring more depth of flavor. I had 4 large yellow peppers and after stuffing had a lot of mixture leftover. I would think a half cup of uncooked rice would do. But it was fine. I just put the rest of the mixture in the pan with the sauce and the pepper tops. I was also weary of mixing everything with the raw meat- and if I do this again, I may cook the meat just to see how it changes the flavor- with some browned bits, it may be different. I would think you could add anything to this like diced mushrooms or carrots or zucchini or beans. My husband liked it, my one daughter ate the mixture (not the pepper), the other daughter that loves yellow peppers wouldn't touch it (she's only 4 so that explains that) and I enjoyed it, yet felt like it needed something- just not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tina3335
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Switched out the beef and pork with ground turkey and chicken sausage ...and chicken stock for the beef stock. Was still very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Incredible flavors! I have made this recipe as-is 5 or 6 times over the past few months; my entire family LOVES this dish. I highly recommend this to anyone who loves stuffed peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Chef John...thank you for this recipe! My girlfriend who is not a big green pepper fan really enjoyed it. It was even better the next night. I used the Lundbergs Wild Blend instead of white rice and I thought it added good texture to the filling. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This recipe will make your taste buds sing. I followed the recipe except I used rotel. It is such a great recipe it didn't need any changes. I did make it once without the hot pork sausage...it was bland, you need the hot pork. I have one child who doesn't eat bell peppers, I just use a single serve cassarole dish with a little sauce on the bottom and the filling on top cooked like the peppers. We fight over the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa j
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
These were really good. Yes, it makes way too much filling. And I tried to halve it, which never works out for me. I didn't use sausage, personal taste, just all ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States